Skip to main content

Our Staff

Meet the OISS department administration and advisors and learn about the specific audiences they serve.

Please contact your advisor via email or telephone and we will do our best to respond within three business days (we are closed on weekends). You can also schedule an appointment with your advisor on the OISS portal.

Contacting multiple people at the International Office only causes confusion and delay. Thank you for your patience.

photo of Geet Vanaik

Geet Vanaik

Director

Phone: 847-491-5979
Email: gvanaik@northwestern.edu

Contact me for:

  • Policies impacting the international community
  • Government and University directives
photo of Taya Carothers

Taya Carothers

Assistant Director Advising Services

Phone: 847-467-6899
Email: taya.carothers@northwestern.edu

Contact me for:

  • F-1/J-1 student advising: Surnames/Family Names A-B, K
photo of Ariana Drule

Ariana Drule

Advisor

Phone: 847-491-2599
Email: ariana.drule@northwestern.edu

Contact me for:

  • Employment/Scholar visas for: Feinberg School of Medicine and Affiliates 
photo of Theresa Johnson

Theresa Johnson

Associate Director

Phone: 847-491-2294
Email: theresa.johnson@northwestern.edu

Contact me for:

  • Employment/Scholar visas for: Weinberg College of Arts & Sciences, Northwestern University-Qatar, Northwestern Buffett, Central Administration (Athletics, Block Museum, Library, etc.)
  • Legal Permanent Residency
photo of Cara Mitchell Lawson

Cara Mitchell Lawson

Advisor

Phone: 847-467-6522
Email: c-lawson@northwestern.edu

Contact me for:

  • Employment/Scholar visas for: McCormick School of Engineering, Bienen School of Music, Medill, NUIT, School of Communication, School of Education and Social Policy, and Centers: ANSER, CBIE, ChiMaD, CIERA, CLP, IIN, ISE, NAISE, NUANCE, Sleep & Circadian Biology, SQI, WCAS Chemistry, and Materials Research Center.
photo of Amanda Mitchel

Amanda Mitchel

Program Assistant

Phone: 847-491-5604
Email: amanda.mitchel@northwestern.edu

Contact me for:

  • Travel signature on immigration document
  • I-20/DS-2019 reprint requests
  • Document pick-up/shipments
photo of Jennifer Mok

Jennifer Mok

Advisor

Phone: 847-491-5615
Email: jennifer.mok@northwestern.edu

Contact me for:

  • Employment/Scholar visas for: Feinberg School of Medicine including Basic Administration, Pritzker School of Law, WCAS Physics and Astronomy
photo of Ryan Radebaugh

Ryan Radebaugh

International Student & Scholar Advisor

Phone: 847-491-3836
Email: ryan.radebaugh@northwestern.edu

Contact me for:

  • F-1/J-1 student advising: Surnames/Family Names T-Z
  • Scholar advising: Kellogg School of Management
photo of Hongji Wang

Hongji Wang

Program Assistant

Phone: 847-467-2351
Email: hongji.wang@northwestern.edu

Contact me for:

  • Travel signature on immigration document
  • I-20/DS-2019 reprint requests
  • document pick-up/shipments
photo of Mark Zajac

Mark Zajac

SEVIS Coordinator

Phone: 847-491-3228
Email: mark.zajac@northwestern.edu

Contact me for:

  • F-1/J-1 student advising for new (incoming) students: 
    Immigration document requests & deferrals; transferring SEVIS record to NU; F-1/J-1 visa application questions
  • Int'l student admissions