Skip to main content

Onsite Caregiver Support

Are you a staff or faculty member navigating the competing demands of your personal and professional lives while providing care for adult or senior loved ones?

Northwestern has expanded its senior and adult care resources to include onsite caregiver support.

Northwestern Senior & Adult Caregiver Support Group

Looking to learn more about senior care or are you currently caring for an aging loved one? Join Stephanie Gerberding, MSW, LCSW, a senior care social worker from Care.com. who will provide a monthly one-hour session on various senior care topics. Stephanie will provide senior care education and resources followed by an opportunity for questions and sharing among participants. The group is an opportunity to learn, connect, and engage in facilitated discussion.

The goal of this group is to help caregivers navigate caregiving responsibilities; provide social, emotional, and informational support; and relieve caregiver isolation through shared connections with others.

2019-2020 Support Group Schedule

Monthly Topic Date Time Campus Location Register
Kickoff! Learning About Resources and Benefits Wednesday, September 11, 2019 Noon - 1p.m. Evanston 720 University Place, Room 106 Register
Sharing Experiences and Support Wednesday, October 16, 2019 Noon - 1p.m. Evanston Norris, Chicago Room 103 Register
Caregiving and the Holidays Wednesday, November 13, 2019 Noon - 1p.m. Evanston Kellogg Global Hub Room 2130 Register
Sharing Experiences and Support Wednesday, December 4, 2019 Noon - 1p.m. Evanston Norris, Chicago Room 103 Register
Senior Housing Options and Levels of Care Wednesday, January 15, 2020 Noon - 1p.m. Chicago McCormick Hall, Room 175 Register
Difficult Conversations Wednesday, February 12, 2020 Noon - 1p.m. Evanston Norris, Chicago Room 103 Register
Sharing Experiences and Support Wednesday, March 11, 2020 Noon - 1p.m. Evanston Norris, Chicago Room 103 Register
Family Dynamics and Caregiving Wednesday, April 15, 2020 Noon - 1p.m. Evanston Norris, Chicago Room 103 Register
Aging in Place Safely Wednesday, May 13, 2020 Noon - 1p.m. Chicago McCormick Hall, Room 175 Register
The Many Feelings of Caregiving Wednesday, June 3, 2020 Noon - 1p.m. Evanston Norris, Chicago Room 103 Register

 

Senior & Adult Care 1:1 Consultations

These 1:1 senior and adult care consultations offer individual caregivers and their families the opportunity to address their caregiving concerns, work on care plans for their loved ones, and much more, in a private, confidential setting. Care planning and professional support is provided by a senior care social worker from Care.com. Participants register for a one-hour consultation. Registration is on a first come, first served basis.

2019-2020 1:1 Consultation Schedule

Date Time Campus Location Register
Thursday, September 12, 2019 11 a.m. - 2 p.m. Evanston 720 University Place, Room 106 Register
Thursday, October 17, 2019 11 a.m. - 2 p.m. Chicago Abbott Hall, Human Resources Office Register
Thursday, November 14, 2019 11 a.m. - 2 p.m. Evanston Norris, Chicago Room 103 Register
Thursday, December 5, 2019 11 a.m. - 2 p.m. Chicago Abbott Hall, Human Resources Office Register
Thursday, January 16, 2020
11 a.m. - 2 p.m. Evanston Norris, Alumni Room 301 Register
Thursday, February 14, 2020
11 a.m. - 2 p.m. Chicago Abbott Hall, Human
Resources Office
Register
Thursday, March 12, 2020
11 a.m. - 2 p.m. Evanston Norris, Chicago Room 103 Register
Thursday, April 16, 2020
11 a.m. - 2 p.m.
Chicago
Abbott Hall, Human
Resources Office
Register
Thursday, May 14, 2020
11 a.m. - 2 p.m.
Evanston
Norris, Alumni Room 301
Register
Thursday, June 4, 2020
11 a.m. - 2 p.m.
Chicago
Abbott Hall, Human
Resources Office
Register

Questions?

Please contact worklife@northwestern.edu with questions about this program.