Skip to main content

Holiday & Winter Recess Calendar

Paid University Holidays are observed according to dates indicated below. Holidays specified in union contracts are observed according to those contracts, even if different from this calendar.  Holidays for the NU-Q campus may differ from these dates. Learn more about holiday eligibility and working on holidays here.

Winter Recess refers to the closing of the University’s academic and administrative offices between the scheduled Christmas Day and New Year’s Eve holidays. Winter Recess days are not holidays but are provided in addition to the already scheduled University holidays. Learn more about winter recess here.

Day Date observed
New Year's Day (observed) Fri, Dec 31, 2021
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Mon, Jan 17, 2022
Memorial Day Mon, May 30, 2022
Juneteenth National Independence Day (observed) Mon, June 20, 2022
Independence Day Mon, July 4, 2022
Labor Day Mon, Sept 5, 2022
Thanksgiving Day Thu, Nov 24, 2022
Day After Thanksgiving Fri, Nov 25, 2022
Christmas Eve (observed) Fri, Dec 23, 2022
Christmas Day (observed) Mon, Dec 26, 2022
Winter Recess
(Learn more about winter recess)
Tue, Dec 27, 2022
Wed, Dec 28, 2022
Thu, Dec 29, 2022
New Year's Eve (observed) Fri, Dec 30, 2022
Mon, Jan 2, 2023 (New Year's Day 2023 observed)