Skip to main content

Academic Leadership Program

The Academic Leadership Program (ALP), an intensive year-long program, develops the leadership and managerial skills of faculty who have demonstrated exceptional ability and academic promise. Many of the program's nearly 1,000 fellows have gone on to serve with distinction as college presidents, provosts and deans.

ALP Fellows attend in-person conferences at alternating Big Ten institutions as well as virtual modules. In addition, ALP Fellows participate in local on-campus activities at their home institution.

Participation is by dean's nomination. If you have questions, please contact Director for Faculty Joan Johnson at

Past Fellows

2023-24 ALP Fellows

  • Nadine George-Graves, Naomi Willie Pollard Professor and Chair of the Department of Performance Studies, School of Communication
  • Ian Hurd,  Professor of Political Science and Director of the Weinberg College Center for International and Area Studies, Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences
  • Vijay Anand Mittal, David S. Holmes Professor of Brain Science and Chair of the Department of Psychology, Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences
  • Jill Wilson, Professor of Instruction of Industrial Engineering and Management Sciences, and Assistant Chair of Industrial Engineering and Management Sciences, McCormick School of Engineering
  • Jessica Winegar, Professor of Anthropology and Hamad Bin Khalifa Al-Thani Chair in Middle East Studies, Weinberg College of Arts and Science

More About the Program

The Academic Leadership Program is run through the Big Ten Academic Alliance (BTAA), the academic consortium of the Big Ten Conference members. For more than half a century, these world-class research institutions have advanced their academic missions, generated unique opportunities for students and faculty, and served the common good by sharing expertise, leveraging campus resources, and collaborating on innovative programs.