Skip to main content

Generative AI Advisory Committee

The Generative AI Advisory Committee is charged with monitoring developments in generative artificial intelligence applications as they relate to academic policy and practices. The committee advises the Provost on academic issues related to generative artificial intelligence including academic integrity and instructional practices. Committee members review resources and provide guidance around pedagogical opportunities and challenges in light of ongoing advances in related technologies.

The responsibilities of the council include:

  • Represent respective schools, departments and units, and communicate relevant developments to and from the committee
  • Review materials and policies developed by the Office of the Provost and related units
  • Apply disciplinary expertise to advise the Provost on matters related to local and institutional policies and coordination of efforts across all three campuses

Instructors should consult the Artificial Intelligence at Northwestern website for instructor resources for the classroom and instructional videos about generative AI.



Committee Members 

  • Miriam Sherin (chair), Associate Provost for Undergraduate Education, Office of the Provost
  • Babak Bakhtiari, Associate General Counsel, Office of General Counsel
  • Yaneth Bello, Associate Director of Admissions, Undergraduate Admissions
  • Ricardo Court, Assistant Dean (Academic), Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences
  • Thomas F. DeFrantz, Professor of Performance Studies, School of Communication
  • Chris Fyfe, Director of Talent Acquisition, Office of Human Resources
  • Vicky Getis, Senior Director of Teaching and Learning Technologies, IT Services  & Support Teaching & Learning Technologies
  • Jeremy Gilbert, Knight Professor in Digital Media Strategy, Medill School of Journalism, Media, Integrated Marketing Communications
  • Kris Hammond,  Bill and Cathy Osborn Professor of Computer Science, McCormick School of Engineering
  • Joan Johnson, Director for Faculty, Office of the Provost
  • Jennifer Keys,  Senior Director of Searle Center for Advancing Learning and Teaching
  • Sarah Lawsky, Vice Dean and Stanford Clinton Sr. and Zylpha Kilbride Clinton Research Professor of Law
  • Elizabeth Lenaghan,  Director and Associate Professor of Instruction, The Cook Family Writing Program; Assistant Director, The Writing Place
  • Brendan Quinn, Senior Developer of Repository & Digital Curation, Northwestern University Libraries
  • Jim Stachowiak, Accessible Technology Strategy and Operations Lead, AccessibleNU
  • Grant Upson, Executive Director of Administration, Feinberg Information Technology
  • Marcelo Worsley, Assistant Professor of Computer Science and Education and Social Policy