Skip to main content

Provost Award for Exemplary Faculty Service

Integral to faculty governance and excellence at Northwestern, faculty service is deserving of formal recognition. The Office of the Provost seeks nominations of faculty members who provide outstanding service to Northwestern or significant contributions to their unit. These faculty are exemplars of academic good citizenship.

Read more about the most recent recipients of the Provost Award for Exemplary Faculty Service in the University announcement


Please direct questions to Director for Faculty Joan Marie Johnson.

2024 Recipient

Laura Brueck

Laura Brueck

Professor of South Asian and Comparative Literature

Brueck is recognized for her expansive record of exemplary service and intellectual leadership.

As co-founder of the Race, Caste, and Colorism Working Group at the Buffett Institute for Global Affairs, and advisor to the Ambedkar Du Bois Society, she has galvanized intellectual engagement over these issues among students and faculty at Northwestern as well as connected Northwestern to the local Southeast Asian community.

Brueck also co-founded the Global Humanities Initiative, which in part works to elevate the scholarly status of translation. While serving as her department chair, she also has contributed to the growth of the Program in Comparative Literary Studies and founded and directed the South Asian Research Forum in the Weinberg College Center for International and Area Studies.

As a collaborator, mentor, leader and institution-builder, Brueck has provided extraordinary service to the University.