Skip to main content

Committee on Honorary Degrees

Each year, Northwestern awards Honorary Degrees to a select group of individuals of exceptional accomplishment. Past recipients include exemplary scholars, artists, actors, writers, musicians, politicians, and social leaders. Learn more about the selection process and how to submit a nomination.

If you have any questions about this process, contact

2025 Honorary Degrees Faculty Committee Members

  • James Speta, Chair and Professor, Law, Pritzker
  • Yarrow Axford, Professor, Earth and Planetary Sciences, Weinberg
  • Geraldo Cadava, Professor, History, Weinberg
  • Leslie DeChurch, Professor, Communication Studies, School of Communication
  • Robert Kalb, Professor, Neurology, Feinberg 
  • Vicky Kalogera, Professor, Physics and Astronomy, Weinberg
  • Simge Küçükyavuz, Professor, Industrial Engineering and Management Sciences, McCormick
  • Ceci Rodgers, Professor, Journalism, Medill
  • Taimur Sullivan, Professor, Saxophone, Bienen
  • Natasha Trethewey, Professor, English, Weinberg
  • Sumit Dhar, ex officio, Associate Provost for Faculty
  • Celina Flowersex officio, Assistant Provost for Faculty
  • Kathleen Hagertyex officio, Provost