Walder Award

The Martin E. and Gertrude G. Walder Award for Research Excellence is given annually to a faculty member in any school or discipline within the University, in recognition of excellence in research.

The award was established by Dr. Joseph A. Walder, who earned his doctorate and medical degrees at Northwestern, then founded a company which supplies synthetic DNA for research and clinical applications.

Each year the Provost identifies a broad academic field as the area from which nominations are solicited from school deans.  The award carries a stipend of $15,000.

Current and Past Recipients

See the most recent recipient below. You can also view a list of past Walder Award recipients.

Chris Wolverton

Christopher Wolverton

Congratulations to the twelfth recipient of the Walder Award for Research Excellence: Christopher Wolverton, Professor of Materials Science and Engineering at Northwestern University’s McCormick School of Engineering and Applied Science.  Wolverton is an expert in computational materials science related to energy applications. Read more.