Skip to main content

Ver Steeg Fellowship

The Dorothy Ann and Clarence L. Ver Steeg Distinguished Research Fellow award is designed "to support the research of a tenured Northwestern faculty member whose research and scholarship are so outstanding as to enhance the reputation of Northwestern, nationally and internationally."

The award was established and endowed by the late Clarence Ver Steeg and his wife, Dorothy.  Clarence Ver Steeg was a faculty member in the department of history from 1950 until 1992 and served as Dean of The Graduate School from 1975 to 1986. This is Northwestern University's first endowed award for excellence in research by a faculty member.

Each year the Provost identifies a broad academic field as the area from which nominations are solicited from school deans.  The fellowship provides for a one-time research account of $39,000.

Congratulations to the 2016 Recipient

Sarah Maza

Sarah Maza

Jane Long Professor in the Arts and Sciences and Professor of History, Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences

Sarah Maza, the Jane Long Professor in the Arts and Sciences and professor of history in Northwestern University’s Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences, has been named the 11th recipient of the Dorothy Ann and Clarence L. Ver Steeg Distinguished Research Fellowship Award.

Maza's research on French history has earned her international esteem. She has written four monographs on French history, all of which explore ambiguities and controversies surrounding social identities. Her publications include a book on 18th-century domestic servants and their masters and a monograph about a series of scandals in pre-revolutionary France that targeted the aristocracy. 

Her most recent publication, “Violette Nozière: A Story of Murder in 1930s Paris” (University of California Press, 2011) is a densely layered account of a high-profile case in 1930s Paris that raised contentious issues of parricide, incest and social ambition. Her most controversial book, “The Myth of the French Bourgeoisie: An Essay on the Social Imaginary, 1750-1850” (Harvard University Press, 2003), caused a stir among historians by making the case that in the 18th and 19th centuries “the bourgeoisie” in France was less a specific social group than a myth that served to express a range of different social and political anxieties. 

Notable for its creative use of cross-disciplinary methods drawn from anthropology, legal studies and especially literature, Maza’s work also includes several articles about historical theory and methods. Next year the University of Chicago Press will publish her volume on the subject, “Thinking About History.”

Directing the University’s Nicholas D. Chabraja Center for Historical Studies since 2012, Maza has won major prizes from the Society for French Historical Studies and the American Historical Association among others, and her work has been reviewed by publications such as The New York Times. 

Her work has been supported by the National Endowment for the Humanities, the National Humanities Center, the Woodrow Wilson Center, the John Simon Guggenheim Foundation and the Stanford Center for Advanced Study in the Behavioral Sciences. Maza is a past president of the American Society for Eighteenth-Century Studies. Her scholarship is influential abroad, especially in France, where she has twice been invited as a visiting professor at the École des Hautes Études en Sciences Sociales. She is a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and currently serves on the board of editors of the American Historical Review.

Back to top