Student Affairs Organizational Chart

icon of organization chart that this links to

To see the organizational structure of Student Affairs you can view our Student Affairs Organizational Chart to show how each department is represented. You can view our Associate Vice President, Dean of Students or Student Engagement offices for more information.

Counseling and Psychological Services (CAPS)

Searle, 633 Emerson, where CAPS is located

Counseling and Psychological Services (CAPS) serves as the primary mental health service at Northwestern University with offices on both the Evanston and Chicago campuses. CAPS provides a set of core services, including clinical services, educational workshops, and consultation with faculty, staff, and parents.

Health Service

health service

Northwestern has many health resources available to our students.

The primary mission of Northwestern University Health Service is two-fold:

to provide quality medical care to allow students to perform optimally, physically and mentally, to achieve their academic and intellectual potential, and to minimize interruptions in their academic pursuits;to provide strong, effective health education programs to help students develop healthy life-styles that enhance their intellectual growth and development as they become responsible members of society for the future.

Assuming the primary mission is achieved, the secondary mission of the Health Service is also two-fold:to maintain participation in various training programs, to help educate new generations of healthcare providers, to stimulate the professional staff, and to keep strong ties with other professional schools, andto encourage research whenever it is relevant to college healthcare and compatible with current services and available resources.

Student Affairs Leadership Team

Patricia Telles-Irvin leading a SALT meeting

The Student Affairs Leadership Team (SALT) supports the work of the Vice President in carrying out the mission of the Division of Student Affairs.  SALT is comprised of Assistant Vice Presidents as well as leaders from eight departments within the Division of Student Affairs.  SALT meets bi-weekly.