Skip to main content

Fellowship Winners

Every Path is Different

Northwestern's Winners

View a complete list of Northwestern's recent fellowship winners or explore our archive of past winners.

Meet Current and Past Winners

Hope McCaffrey

Mellon Foundation Predoctoral Award in Women’s History and Public History (2022–2023)

Hope McCaffrey is a PhD candidate in Northwestern’s Department of History. In fall 2023, Hope will start work as a Mellon Foundation Predoctoral Fellow at the New-York Historical Society’s Center for Women’s History, where she will contribute to the creation of exhibitions, content, and educational materials. She will also pursue her own research at the Patricia D. Klingenstein Library. Her dissertation, “ ‘White Men or None’: White Women and Democratic Politics in the Free States, 1840–1865,” investigates the form and substance of free-state white women’s politics in the Civil War era. Her research has found that these women, united under the banner of the Democratic Party, were fiercely partisan, and that they rallied around the same causes that men of the party promoted: patriarchy, white supremacy, and aggressive national expansion.

Visit New-York Historical Society Website
Sam A. Kleiner

Marshall Scholarship (2008–2009)

Samuel M. Kleiner is an associate in the litigation department at Paul, Weiss, where he represents clients in high-stakes litigation, government and internal investigations, and regulatory proceedings. Prior to joining Paul, Weiss, he served as a senior advisor to the general counsel and the under secretary for terrorism and financial intelligence at the US Department of the Treasury, where he advised on sanctions, anti-money laundering, CFIUS and litigation matters. Secretary Janet Yellen awarded him the Treasury Department’s Exceptional Service Medal for his service. His writing has appeared in Just Security and Law360, and he is the author of The Flying Tigers: the Untold Story of the American Pilots Who Waged a Secret War Against Japan, published by Viking in 2018.

Visit Marshall Scholarship Website