Skip to main content


The Faculty Senate is the elected and representative body of the faculty. It considers, makes recommendations, and passes resolutions concerning matters of general university interest, including:

The Faculty Senate was formed out of the General Faculty Committee, established in 1959. It dissolved in January 2011 when the Northwestern faculty adopted a shared governance structure consisting of an Assembly and a Senate.

The Senate includes one representative from every department and one non-tenure track representative from each school. See the Shared Governance Document for more information on the functions and relationship of the Faculty Senate and Faculty Assembly.

Tenured and tenure-track faculty are eligible for election to the Senate immediately upon their University appointment. Non-tenure track full time faculty are eligible for election after one year.

For full guidelines, review the Faculty Senate Bylaws.