Skip to main content


The Faculty Senate is the elected and representative body of the faculty. It considers, makes recommendations, and passes resolutions concerning matters of general university interest, including:

The Faculty Senate was formed out of the General Faculty Committee, established in 1959. It dissolved in January 2011 when the Northwestern faculty adopted a shared governance structure consisting of an Assembly and a Senate.

A more detailed description of the Faculty Senate, its role in shared governance, a guide to being a senator, and more can be found in the documents below: 

For full guidelines, review the Faculty Senate Bylaws.