Skip to main content

Faculty Senate

Representative and elected body of the faculty

Resolutions, Motions & Initiatives

Approved during the 2018-2019 academic year

The Faculty Senate passed the following resolution from the Student Affairs Committee on November 28, 2018:

Whereas concerns over student wellness have increased significantly over the past several years, and

Whereas lack of awareness about available resources to help students stay mentally and physically safe and healthy continues to be a problem,

Be it resolved that the Faculty Senate recommends to all faculty that they include the following sentence in their syllabi: “Students can find useful resources for safety and security, academic support, and mental and physical health and well-being at the NUhelp website and app.”

The Faculty Senate voted in a favor of a motion to implement the Faculty Handbook Committee's proposed revisions to the Faculty Handbook on October 17, 2018. 

 A motion to ratify the following Committee on Cause members was adopted on October 17, 2018:

Senator Allan Horwich (Chair); Senator Celia O’Brien; Senator Lilah Shapiro; Senator David Uttal; Senator Belma Hadziselimovic; Senator Hao Zhang; Senator Sarah Bartolome; Senator Hermann Riecke.

 A motion to ratify the following standing committee chairs was adopted on October 17, 2018:

Senator Sri Sridharan, Budget & Planning Committee; Senator Allan Horwich, Committee on Cause; Senator Claudia Swan, Educational Affairs Committee; Senator Richard Kieckhefer, Faculty Handbook Committee; Senator Jennifer Cole, Faculty Rights & Responsibilities Committee; Senator Laurel Harbridge-Yong, Governance Committee; Senator Elsa Alvaro, Non-Tenure Eligible Committee; Senator Thomas Meade, Research Affairs Committee; Senator Robert Gordon, Salary & Benefits Committee; Senator Lilah Shapiro, Secure Faculty Survey Committee; Senator Joshua Hauser, Social Responsibility Committee; Senator Karen Springen, Student Affairs Committee. 


What is the Faculty Senate?

Learn more about the faculty senate