Skip to main content

Faculty Recognition Dinner

Every year, Northwestern celebrates faculty members who have brought distinction to the University by earning recognition from societies and agencies around the world.

2020 Recognition Dinner

The Faculty Recognition Dinner was held Jan. 29 at the Kellogg Global Hub. Honorees were selected by the multidisciplinary Faculty Honors Committee from faculty award recipients identified by deans and department chairs. Subgroups of the committee organized by academic area selected the most prestigious awards for recognition from their respective academic areas.


Two professors, Patty Loew of the Medill School of Journalism, Media, Integrated Marketing Communications, and David Cella of the Feinberg School of Medicine, offered short presentations of their work to fellow honorees. Read the full story in Northwestern Now.

Award Winners

Among the night’s honorees were elected fellows to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine and the American Academy of Arts and Letters, and recipients of awards from the Carnegie Corporation, American Academy of Poets, the Guggenheim Foundation, the American Council of Learned Societies, the Benjamin Franklin Medal in Materials Engineering from the Franklin Institute and a Grammy Award. The University also recognized early-career faculty who were recipients of honors including the New Horizons Prize from the Breakthrough Prize Foundation, CAREER Awards from the National Science Foundation and the Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientist and Engineers.

Download the program for a complete list

Previous Recognition Dinners

Download past programs: