Faculty Rights and Responsibilities

An important component of the Senate’s commitment to shared governance involves attention to Faculty rights and responsibilities.  This committee is both pro-active in its initiatives as well as responsive to the specific concerns voiced by its constituency.  Maintaining an awareness of peer institutions and national trends, the committee serves as a conduit for Faculty voices. Recent examples include internet privacy, and the ombudsperson program.  If indeed a thriving, productive Faculty is at the heart of every great university, it is hoped that this committee, as a component of our elected body of representatives, will contribute to the overarching well-being of our community.

Chair: Sylvester Johnson, Associate Professor, African American Studies (Weinberg) 

Marcia Bosits, Associate Professor, Music Performance (Bienen)
Jennifer Cole, Professor, Linguistics (Weinberg)
Rives B. Collins, Associate Professor, Theatre (SoC)
Laurence Marks, Professor, Materials Science & Engineering (McCormick)
Christina Paschyn, Assistant Professor in Residence, Journalism (NU-Q)
Claudia Swan, Associate Professor, Art History (Weinberg)