Skip to main content

Restricted Foundations

We encourage faculty and staff to contact us before applying to any private foundation so that we can update you on the current status of Northwestern's relationship with the foundation. On behalf of Northwestern, we manage a portfolio of more than 500 foundations that give to higher education nationally or in our region.

For some specific foundations, we require notification prior to any contact.

There may be limitations on the number of applications that may be made, particular donor preferences, current presidential interest, etc. Please consult with our office before ontacting any of the foundations below:

Restricted foundations list

  • Rita Allen Foundation
  • Annenberg Foundation
  • ARCS Foundation
  • Arthur Vining Davis Foundations
  • Buehler Family Foundation
  • Charles Koch Foundation
  • Chicago Community Trust
  • Circle of Service Foundation
  • Coleman Foundation
  • Owen L. Coon Foundation
  • Crown Family Philanthropies
  • Chauncey and Marion Deering McCormick Foundation
  • Camille and Henry Dreyfus Foundation
  • Farley Family Charitable Foundation
  • Joseph and Bessie Feinberg Foundation
  • Gordon and Llura Gund Foundation
  • The Hartwell Foundation
  • The Hearst Foundations
  • Hoellen Family Foundation
  • W.M. Keck Foundation
  • The Kemper Foundation
  • Kettering Foundation
  • Kinship Foundation
  • Lilly Endowment
  • MacArthur Foundation
  • Mallinckrodt Foundation
  • McCormick Foundation
  • Mellon Foundation
  • The Bernard Osher Foundation
  • David and Lucile Packard Foundation
  • Pew Charitable Trusts
  • Polk Bros. Foundation
  • Pritzker Foundation
  • Pritzker Pucker Family Foundation
  • Regenstein Foundation
  • Rice Foundation
  • Dr. Scholl Foundation
  • Searle Funds at the Chicago Community Trust
  • Sherman Fairchild Foundation
  • The Siragusa Family Foundation
  • Starr Foundation