First-Year Student Task Force

The perfect way to begin making a difference at Northwestern: serve on the First-Year Student Task Force. In its inaugural year, students will have the opportunity to help shape and create a phenomenal first-year experience for their peers. The task force will work directly with Joshua N. McKenzie, Director of First Year Experience and the Wildcat Welcome Board of Directors to determine areas of growth, success, and missed opportunities for the University. Talk about helping to make change right off the bat; Northwestern could not be any luckier to have you. The group is comprised of freshmen, transfer students, and upperclassmen (Peer Advisers).

  • Responsibilities:
    • Meet twice per month (bi-weekly) on Mondays from 6-7 p.m.
      • Dates: 9/30, 10/14, 10/28, 11/11, 11/25, 12/2
    • Discuss timely transition issues of first-year students
    • Create programmatic proposals for first-year students that tie to the Northwestern transition
    • Meet various Northwestern administrators to discuss the first-year experience
    • Work with a small group of other first-year students throughout the year (September - June)

Questions? Contact

The 2013-14 Task Force

  1. Hannah Beswick-Hale
  2. Jane Castro
  3. Agustin Chacin Marin
  4. Haley Dunbrack
  5. Jo Ann Efobi
  6. Garrett Goehring
  7. Andrew Green (Peer Adviser)
  8. Jenny Halpern
  9. Lauren Hisiger
  10. Brennan Jackson
  11. Michaela Kastelman
  12. Maddy Kelly
  13. Dan Loizzo III
  14. Christine Lu
  15. Erin Manning
  16. Magan Omar (Peer Adviser)
  17. Gauri Rangrass
  18. Shoshi Shapiro
  19. Max Silberman
  20. Andrew Simpson
  21. Joji Syed
  22. Martin Ying
  23. Shirley Zhang
  24. Kristin Zubritzky
  25. Lauren Sadowsky (Board of Directors)
  26. Kim Struglinski (Graduate Student)