Skip to main content

U7+ Statement on the War in Ukraine

The Presidents of the U7+ Alliance member universities stand in solidarity with Ukraine, the Ukrainian people, and Ukrainian universities, and with all those who are affected by the violence currently perpetrated by the Russian government. We are anguished and deeply concerned by this war brought upon Ukraine and by its catastrophic ramifications on so many lives.

As an international Alliance of 50 universities across 20 countries and all continents, so many of our students, faculty, staff, and alumni, as well as our colleagues and fellow universities and institutions around the world, are directly and indirectly impacted by the war. We are watching in sorrow, anger, and shock. We commend the bravery and sacrifice of those in Russia who are currently speaking out against the war. We reaffirm our commitment to the safety and well-being of Ukrainian and Russian students, faculty, and staff on our campuses.

In response, our universities are mobilizing in support of the victims and those in need, both in and outside of our communities. We are providing student aid, assistance with legal obligations, as well as material and psychological support where possible. Our colleagues are offering insightful and unflinching expert commentary, helping the world understand what is happening.

The U7+ Alliance will continue to defend the fundamental values of peace, truth, democracy, academic freedom, and international cooperation that are the foundation of this Alliance.

All violence and all wars anywhere on the globe are, at their core, a devastating collapse of respect for humanity. We urge that all refugees fleeing conflict be treated equally and with compassion, without prejudice based on race, nationality, gender, or any other identity.

U7+ Statement on the War in Ukraine Signatories:

  • Australian National University
  • McGill University
  • Université d'Ottawa
  • University of British Columbia
  • University of Toronto
  • Aix-Marseille Université
  • Université Côte d’Azur
  • Université Grenoble Alpes
  • Université Paris Saclay
  • Freie Universitat Berlin
  • University of Mannheim
  • Hitotsubashi University
  • Keio University
  • Osaka University
  • University of Cape Town
  • University of Cambridge
  • Georgetown University
  • Northwestern University
  • Sciences Po
  • Université de Bordeaux;
  • Università degli Studi di Milano
  • Université de Montréal
  • École Polytechnique