International Office Staff

Contact information for IO department administrators and advisors are listed below, along with the specific audiences they serve.

IO staff members aim to respond to your email/phone call within 2 business days (we are closed on weekends).  Our office advises 8000 international students and scholars, and we are very busy!  Please be patient and wait for an advisor to reply to your email or phone call.  Emailing multiple people at the International Office only causes confusion and delay.  Thank you for your patience.

Visit our International Peer Advisors and Graduate Sidekicks pages for directories of student peer advisors.

Anthony Adame | Program Assistant

photo of Anthony Adame

Contact:

Phone: 847-491-5613
Email: anthony.adame@northwestern.edu

Adam Blough | Advisor

photo of Adam Blough

Contact:

Phone: 847-467-4294
Email: a-blough@northwestern.edu

Advising Areas

  • F-1/J-1 student advising: All 1Y and 2Y MBA, MMM, JD/MBA, MBA Exchange

Taya Carothers | Assistant Director Advising Services

photo of Taya Carothers

Contact:

Phone: 847-467-6899
Email: taya.carothers@northwestern.edu

Stephanie Cisneros | Advisor

photo of Stephanie Cisneros

Contact:

Phone: 847-467-4025
Email: stephanie.cisneros@northwestern.edu

Advising Areas

  • F-1/J-1 student advising: Surnames/Family Names C-J and EMBA

Ariana Drule | Advisor

photo of Ariana Drule

Contact:

Phone: 847-491-2599
Email: ariana.drule@northwestern.edu

Advising Areas

  • Employment/Scholar visas for: Feinberg School of Medicine (except Basic Science Administration - see Emlyn Torres), and Pritzker School of Law.

Angelica Garcia | Advisor

photo of Angelica Garcia

Contact:

Phone: 847-467-6302
Email: angelica.garcia@northwestern.edu

Advising Areas

  • F-1/J-1 student advising: Surnames/Family Names O - W

Theresa Johnson | Coordinator

photo of Theresa Johnson

Contact:

Phone: 847-491-2294
Email: theresa.johnson@northwestern.edu

Advising Areas


  • Employment/Scholar visas for: Weinberg College of Arts & Sciences, School of Communication, School of Education and Social Policy, Northwestern University-Qatar, Buffett Institute, Central Administration (Athletics, Block Museum, Library, etc.)

Debbie Kaltman | Coordinator, International Student Experience

photo of Debbie Kaltman

Contact:

Phone: 847-491-3836
Email: d-kaltman@northwestern.edu

Advising Areas

  • F-1/J-1 student advising: Surnames/Family Names X-Z

Cara Lawson | Advisor

photo of Cara Lawson

Contact:

Phone: 847-467-6522
Email: c-lawson@northwestern.edu

Advising Areas

  • Employment/Scholar visas for: McCormick School of Engineering, Kellogg School of Management, Bienen School of Music, Medill, NUIT, and Centers: ANSER, CBIE, ChiMaD, CIERA, CLP, IIN, ISE, NAISE, NUANCE, Sleep & Circadian Biology, SQI, and Materials Research Center.

Jennifer Mok | Program Assistant

photo of Jennifer Mok

Contact:

Phone: 847-491-5613
Email: jennifer.mok@northwestern.edu

Ravi Shankar | Director

photo of Ravi Shankar

Contact:

Phone: 847-491-5979
Email: r-shankar@northwestern.edu

Advising Areas

  • Legal Permanent Residency

Emlyn Torres | Advisor

photo of Emlyn Torres

Contact:

Phone: 847-491-8980
Email: e-torres@northwestern.edu

Advising Areas

  • F-1/J-1 student advising: Surnames/Family Names K-N
  • Employment/Scholar visas for: Feinberg School of Medicine Basic Science Administration (Dept. of Biochemistry & Molecular Genetics/Pharmacology, Dept. of Microbiology/Immunology, Dept. of Physiology, Dept. of Cell & Molecular Biology)

Jennifer Zabel ("JZ") | Assistant Director Operations and Client Relations

photo of Jennifer Zabel ("JZ")

Contact:

Phone: 847-491-3228
Email: JenZabel@northwestern.edu

Advising Areas

  • F-1/J-1 student advising: Surnames/Family Names A-B