Skip to main content
Northwestern University

Online Learning Initiatives

The recently launched Digital Learning website showcases the many faculty innovations in teaching and learning that leverage new educational technologies to enhance the student learning experience.

Northwestern now offers all of its MOOCs at no cost to its faculty, staff, and students. You can now earn a Course Certificate, and access all MOOC content, for all Northwestern MOOCs on Coursera free of charge! To enroll in a Northwestern course and activate the special free course certificate offer, please follow the enrollment steps listed HERE.

Innovation in Teaching Series

The Garage, Northwestern’s hub for student entrepreneurship and innovation, in partnership with the Office of the Provost and the Faculty Distance Learning Workgroup, is pleased to present a new program to explore new developments in teaching and learning: the Innovation in Teaching Series.

Melissa Crounse Kaufman, Executive Director of the Garage; Dan Gruber, Assistant Professor at the Medill School of Journalism, Media, Integrated Marketing Communications; and Marianna Kepka, Assistant Provost for Academic Administration have organized a series of open houses, presentations, and panel discussions as a forum for showcasing exciting developments and building community throughout Northwestern around teaching innovation.

Additional events for the 2017-2018 academic year are in development and updates will be sent out when details are available. For more information on upcoming innovation and teaching events, please visit The Garage and Digital Learning events pages.

Provost's Digital Learning Fellowships

Proposals for Provost's Digital Learning Fellowship are no longer being accepted for the 2016-2017 academic year. Faculty interested in applying for the Provost's Fellowship for Digital Learning may contact Dan Pattley, Online Learning Coordinator, ( for further advice and direction.  

The 2015-2016 Provost's Digital Learning Fellowships have been awarded to nine exceptional projects that will address a wide variety of subject matters and learning goals, including the integration of new learning analytics tools, multiple novel approaches to teaching linguistics and language, and collaborative learning platforms to build interaction and engagement for students. Learn more about these innovative projects on the Provost's Digital Learning Fellowships recipients page.

The Fellowships began in the Fall 2014, when the Provost and Faculty Distance Learning Workgroup announced new seed funding to support digital and online projects that will enhance Northwestern students’ learning through the innovative use of technologies. Provost Dan Linzer and the Faculty Distance Learning Workgroup requested proposals from Northwestern faculty for the Provost's Fellowship for Digital Learning, that will enhance Northwestern students’ learning, allow faculty and the University to experiment with modern learning technologies, showcase Northwestern faculty’s excellence in teaching, and increase Northwestern’s visibility in digital and online teaching environments. 

Faculty Distance Learning Workgroup

The Faculty Distance Learning Workgroup advises the Provost on issues related to the development and implementation of distance learning opportunities at the University. Through active engagement with the schools, faculty colleagues and other groups across campus, this workgroup helps to ensure that the core teaching, research, and service mission is at the center of all distance learning initiatives undertaken by the University.

Todd Murphey, Chair, Associate Professor, Mechanical Engineering – MEAS
John Bresland, Lecturer, English – WCAS
Sara Broaders, Distinguished Senior Lecturer, Psychology – WCAS
Tom Collinger, Associate Professor, Integrated Marketing Communications; Senior Director of Medill Distance Learning – Medill
Charlotte Cubbage, Librarian, Research and Learning Services – University Library
Mary Finn, Associate Dean of Undergraduate Academic Affairs – WCAS
Jane Holl, Professor, Pediatrics – FSM

Khusro Kidwai, (acting member) Assistant Dean of Distance Learning – SPS 

Michele McDonough, Lecturer, Molecular Biosciences – WCAS and Faculty Senate representative
David Meyer, Professor, Physics and Astronomy – WCAS
Rick Morris, Associate Dean for Finance and Administration – SoC
Steve Reed, Professor – Law
Chris Riesbeck, Associate Professor, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science – MEAS

Kimberly Scott, Director, Learning and Organizational Change Program – SESP

Florian Zettelmeyer, Professor, Marketing – Kellogg

Marianna Kepka, Facilitator, Assistant Provost for Academic Administration


Back to top