Fall 2010

About the Magazine

Northwestern is the quarterly alumni magazine for Northwestern University.
Contact or contribute to the magazine.

Campus Life

Super Rings

Story Tools

Share this story

Facebook  Facebook
Twitter  Twitter
Email  Email

Print this story

Find Us on Social Media

Facebook  Twitter  Twitter

In February New Orleans Saints offensive tackle Zach Strief became the fourth consecutive Northwestern player to win a Super Bowl. Starting in 2006, a Northwestern alumnus has been on the active roster of each Super Bowl–winning squad:

  • 2006 — Trai Essex (McC05), Pittsburgh Steelers
  • 2007 — Matt Ulrich (SESP05), Indianapolis Colts
  • 2008 — Barry Cofield (C06), New York Giants
  • 2009 — Trai Essex, Steelers
  • 2010 — Zach Strief (C06), New Orleans Saints

In April three members of the Wildcats 2009 squad were selected in the 2010 NFL Draft. Defensive end Corey Wootton (C10) and quarterback Mike Kafka (C10) were picked in the fourth round by the Chicago Bears and the Philadelphia Eagles, respectively, while cornerback Sherrick McManis (C10) was selected one round later by the Houston Texans. Overall there are 15 former Wildcats in the NFL.