Facilities builds and maintains a Northwestern that educates, enriches and engages. Below is a list recent awards the University earned in it's pursuit to improve its standing for building standards and sustainability. Facilities is entrusted with the ongoing care of the University's physical assets. Our charge is to find balance among: preservation of the University's heritage; distinguished design; maintenance and functionality; environmental responsibility; and fiscal management. We work interdependently and collaboratively, contributing to each other's success in creating optimal results across all aspects of our work.
SCUP Excellence in Architecture

SCUP Excellence in Architecture for a New Building

Athletic Business Facilties of Merit Award

Athletic Business Facilties of Merit Award

Ryan Fieldhouse and Walter Athletics Center

2018 ENRMidwest Project of the Year Winner


2018 ENRMidwest Best Project Winner


2017 AIA Distinguish Building Award

  • Distinguished Building Award and Citation of Merit for the Sailing Center

2017 Ranked as STARS Silver Institution

  • Awarded by the Association for Advancement of Sustainability in Higher Education (AASHE) Sustainability's Tracking, Assessment, and Rating System


2017 Design Evanston Awards


2016 Bike Friendly University Silver Status

  • Awarded by the League of American Bicyclists


2016 AIA Excellence in Architecture Award

  • Interior Architecture Award for the Charles Deering Library West Entry
    Special recognition for heritage conservation
Preservation Awards

2016 City of Evanston Preservation Awards

  • Innovative Solutions in Preservation for the Vandy Christie Tennis Center renovation
  • Proper Rehabilitation/Reuse for Seabury Hall exterior restoration
  • Sensitive Addition/Alteration for 2303 Sheridan for an addition and exterior work to create a gathering space and improve accessibility
Palladio Awards

2016 Palladio Award


2016 Tucker Design Award

  • For excellence in the use of natural stone in design of the Charles Deering Library

2015 Trinity Award

  • Recognition for Outstanding collaborative partnership between members in restoration category.
  • 2014 East Facade Repair Program

2015 U.S. EPA Green Power Leadership Award

  • Awarded by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) that recognizes Northwestern for its commitment and contribution to helping advance the development of the nation's voluntary green power market

2015 City of Evanston Preservation Awards

  • Innovative Solution in Preservation for Patten Gymnasium
  • Proper Rehabilitation/Restoration for Scott Hall and Cahn Auditorium
  • Sensitive Addition/Alteration for Pi Beta Phi Sorority

2015 AIA Design Excellence Awards


2015 Chicago Building Congress Merit Awards


2015 Design Evanston Awards


2014 Tree Campus USA Recognition

  • Given by the Arbor Day Foundation to honor higher education institutions for successfully overseeing their campus forests and for engaging staff and students in tree conservation

2014 City of Evanston Preservation Awards

  • Innovative Solution in Preservation for Chapin Hall
  • Proper Rehabilitation/Restoration for Swift Hall/Cresap Laboratory
  • Proper Rehabilitation/Restoration for the Charles Deering Library
  • Sensitive Addition/Alteration for Kappa Kappa Gamma

2014 AIA Design Excellence Awards

  • Divine Detail Award for the Charles Deering Library West Entry
  • Technological Institute Additions
Ford Engineering - Silver
Silverman Hall - Gold
Harris Hall - Gold Wieboldt SPS - Gold
Ryan Center - Gold 630 Emerson - Silver
Sailing Center - Gold Rogers House - Silver
Searle (Student Health) - Gold Tech Infill (BC & FG) - Silver

2013 Illinois Governor's Sustainability Awards

  • Gold status from the Campus Sustainability Compact

2012 City of Evanston Preservation Awards


2012 Citizens Utility Board

  • Oustanding work to promote Energy Efficiency

2011 City of Evanston Preservation Awards

  • Sensitive addition for 721 University Place
  • Margery B. Perkins Preservation Award, Outstanding Rehabilitation/Restoration for Segal Visitors Center

2010 City of Evanston Preservation Awards


2010 American Society of Landscape Architects, Illinois Chapter


2009 Illinois Indiana Masonry Council

  • Quality Client Award for Northwestern University

2009 City of Evanston Preservation Awards