Skip to main content

2020 U7+ Presidential Summit Meeting Agenda

Meeting Agenda – Day 1, November 22-23

Dialogue on the role the U7+ and member institutions can play in addressing intergenerational justice

On the first day of the summit, presidents will meet in small groups arranged to accommodate local time zones. This means that the same session will run three separate times on November 22 and 23. If presidential delegates (sherpas) will be attending, they must join the same section as their president.

Day 1, Section 1

Nov 22, 7-8:30 p.m. Chicago (UTC -6) / Nov 23, 10-11:30 a.m. Japan (UTC +9)

Day 1, Section 2

Nov 23, 7-8:30 a.m. Chicago (UTC -6) / Nov 23, 2-3:30 p.m. France (UTC +1)

Day 1, Section 3

Nov 23, 10-11:30 a.m. Chicago (UTC -6) / Nov 23, 5-6:30 p.m. France (UTC +1)


Welcome and Introductions
– 15 minutes

Presentations of proposed actions for the U7+ in 2021 – 15 minutes

  • G7 engagement and influence
  • U7+ Artificial Intelligence Ethics Project
  • Multi-stakeholder discussion on intergenerational justice

Breakout discussions on intergenerational justice – 45 minutes

U7+ presidents will meet in small groups for discussion, using the U7+ framework of Share, Voice, Act as a guide:

  • Share –  The context of your university
  • Voice – U7+ engagement with the G7
  • Act – The impact of U7+ actions
    • There are four proposed actions for 2021:
      • G7 engagement and influence
      • U7+ Artificial Intelligence Ethics Project
      • Multi-stakeholder discussion on intergenerational justice
      • Ongoing development of the standing U7+ working groups and addition of new exploratory working group on Academic Freedom
    • Should the U7+ move forward with these four proposals? Would action in these areas lead to positive impact?

Reports from breakout groups and discussion – 10 minutes

Thank you and preparations for Day 2 – 5 minutes

 

Meeting Agenda – Day 2, November 24-25

Defining concrete actions universities can take to address global challenges and promote intergenerational justice

Day 2

Nov 24, 8-10 a.m. Chicago (UTC -6) / Nov 24, 3-p.m. France (UTC +1) / Nov 24, 11 p.m.- Nov 25, 1 a.m. Japan (UTC +9)


Welcome and Introductions – 10 minutes

Summary of discussions and recommendations from U7+ presidents – 15 minutes

  • Discussion facilitators from day 1 will provide coordinated overviews of the issues raised during the previous day’s discussions on the proposed U7+ actions for 2021

Adoption of the Collective Statement on the Importance of Intergenerational Justice – 5 minutes

Plenary: Perspectives on the role of universities as global actors – 30 minutes

  • Featuring esteemed special guests to be announced. Select members of the press will be invited to join the event at this point.

Fireside Chat: Reflections on the role of universities as global actors and their impact in addressing global challenges – 30 minutes

Closing ceremony and announcement of 2021 U7+ hosting university – 10 minutes