The DDRA Competition is Open! There are several countries that are closed to Fulbright researchers. These countries will not be funded for research by the DDRA Program. If a country has a note to contact DDRA@ed.gov, please contact us to update you on the status on whether or not applicants can apply to those countries. If additional countries become unavailable, we will let you know.

AFRICA

Angola Burundi

Cabo Verde (Cape Verde)

Central African Republic

Chad

Comoros

Democratic Republic of the Congo

(DRC/Kinshasa)

Djibouti

Equatorial Guinea

Eritrea Gabon

Gambia

Guinea-Bissau

Liberia Mali

Mauritania

Sao Tome & Principe

Seychelles

Somalia

South Sudan

EAST ASIA & PACIFIC

North Korea

EUROPE

Turkey (DDRA applicants can only apply to Ankara and Istanbul)

NEAR EAST

Algeria

Lebanon

Svria

Yemen

Egypt – contact ddra@ed.gov for updates

Libya

Gaza

Iran

Iraq

Oman - contact ddra@ed.gov for updates

Qatar - contact ddra@ed.gov for updates

Saudi Arabia

Tunisia

West Bank

CENTRAL ASIA

Afghanistan

Bangladesh

Pakistan- contact ddra@ed.gov for updates

Turkmenistan

WESTERN HEMISPHERE

Cuba

Haiti

Nicaragua

Venezuela