Skip to main content

Essay Contest

Congratulations to Jonathan Sun!

Jonathan Sun is the winner of this year's essay contest with his submission, Disparate and Equal. Jonathan received $500 and a One Book T-shirt. You can read his essay here.

Sean Aminali is the winner of an honorable mention for his essay, Rudderless: An Infinity of Droplets. Sean received a One Book T-shirt. You can read his essay here.

We'd like to thank all the first-years and transfers who took time to submit their essays - our panel of judges enjoyed reading them. We'd also like to thank all of essay judges for making this possible: Eugene Lowe from the President's Office, Charles Yarnoff, Jeanne Herrick, and James O'Laughlin from Weinberg's Cook Family Writing Program, Sara Monoson, Professor and Chair of the Political Science department, Gerry Cadava, Associate Professor of History and this year's faculty chair, and Nancy Cunniff, the director of One Book One Northwestern.


One Book One Northwestern is awarding a $500 prize for the best essay of 1,337 words—the length of the Declaration of Independence or less by an entering first-year or transfer student on the question of equality.

 “When have you stood for or against equality? What did equality mean to you in that moment, did your understanding of equality change as a result of your action, and was equality achieved?”

Please submit your essay to by 11:59 pm, Sunday September 10, Central Standard time (CST). Please include your name, email address and title on the submitted essay.   The subject line of the email should be "Essay contest".

A committee of Northwestern faculty, selected by One Book, will review each submission. The winner of the contest will be announced on October 19th at the One Book keynote with Danielle Allen.