•  ()
  •  ()
  • Print this Story
  • Email this Story

Wayne named Appleman Professor

September 8, 2011 | by Jasmine Rangel

EVANSTON, Ill. --- Diane B. Wayne, M.D., associate professor of medicine in the Feinberg School of Medicine, has been named the Dr. John Sherman Appleman Professor in Medical Education.

Wayne is the vice chair of education in the department of medicine. Since 2001, she has been the internal medicine residency program director, and, since 2006, the deputy editor of the Journal of General Internal Medicine.

She has been the recipient of many awards, including receiving the 2007 National Award for Medical Education Scholarship from the Society of General Internal Medicine and the 2007 Thomas Hale Ham Award for New Investigators from the Research in Medicine Education Committee of the American Association of American Medical Colleges. Wayne was the 2010 recipient of the Parker Palmer “Courage to Teach National Program Director Award” from the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME).

Wayne’s research focuses on simulation-based education, competency assessment, graduate medical education and standard setting. She recently oversaw the successful reaccreditation for five full years of the residency program in internal medicine and all 11 of the department of medicine’s ACGME-approved fellowship programs.

She joined the Northwestern faculty in 1994.
Topics: People