•  ()
  •  ()
  • Print this Story
  • Email this Story

New to the National Academy of Education

April 20, 2011 | by Wendy Leopold


Penelope Peterson

EVANSTON, Ill. --- Penelope L. Peterson, Eleanor R. Baldwin Professor of Education and the dean of the Northwestern University School of Education and Social Policy, has been elected to the National Academy of Education.

An honorific society, the academy is made up of no more than 200 U.S. members who are elected on the basis of outstanding scholarship or outstanding contributions to education.

Under Peterson’s leadership, Northwestern’s School of Education and Social Policy (SESP) moved up from a rank of 20 by “U.S. News and World Report” to consistently being ranked among the top 10 schools of education across the country. She also has advanced the school as a center of interdisciplinary scholarship and research.

A former president of the American Education Research Association (AERA), Peterson is an expert in learning and teaching in schools and classrooms; student and teacher learning in reform contexts; and relations among educational research, policy and practice.

The co-author of “Restructuring in the Classroom: Teaching, Learning and School Organization” and “Learning from Our Lives: Women, Research and Autobiography in Education,” Peterson was awarded AERA’s Cattell Early Career Award for her research on effective teaching and learning.

In 2006, she traveled to China with Chicago Mayor Richard M. Daley, meeting with China’s Minister of Education and visiting a technical junior high school and high school.

Peterson co-edited the recently published third edition of the International Encyclopedia of Education. She joined the Northwestern faculty as dean in 1997.

In addition to Peterson, SESP faculty Carol Lee, who is the Edwina S. Tarry Professor of Education and Social Policy and also professor of African American Studies in the Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences; Larry Hedges, who is the Board of Trustees Fellow of Statistics and Social Policy and a faculty fellow at Northwestern’s Institute for Policy Research; and Allan Collins, professor emeritus of learning sciences are members of the National Academy of Education.
Topics: People