•  ()
  •  ()
  • Print this Story
  • Email this Story

Wasielewski Named Clare Hamilton Hall Professor of Chemistry

April 16, 2010

EVANSTON, Ill. --- Michael Wasielewski, professor of chemistry in the Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences, has been named the Clare Hamilton Hall Professor of Chemistry.

Wasielewski, who also is director of the Argonne-Northwestern Solar Energy Research (ANSER) Center, has pioneered new approaches to solar energy conversion. His research on light-driven charge transport in molecules and nanoscale materials for solar energy conversion has resulted in more than 350 publications.

He was elected a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science in 1995 and has held numerous distinguished lectureships and fellowships. Among his recent awards are the 2008 Porter Medal for Photochemistry, the 2006 James Flack Norris Award in Physical Organic Chemistry of the American Chemical Society and the 2004 Photochemistry Research Award of the Inter-American Photochemical Society.

Topics: People