•  ()
  •  ()
  • Print this Story
  • Email this Story

Trio Honored by American Chemical Society

March 8, 2010 | by Megan Fellman

EVANSTON, Ill. --- Northwestern University's chemistry department in the Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences has achieved something new in its history: Three faculty members -- all physical chemists -- have received awards from the American Chemical Society (ACS) during the same year.

George C. Schatz, Charles E. and Emma H. Morrison Professor of Chemistry, received the 2010 Peter Debye Award in Physical Chemistry; Peter C. Stair, professor of chemistry and director of the Center for Catalysis and Surface Science, received the 2010 George A. Olah Award in Hydrocarbon or Petroleum Chemistry; and Richard P. Van Duyne, Charles E. and Emma H. Morrison Professor of Chemistry, received the 2010 ACS Award in Analytical Chemistry.

The three were featured in a recent issue of Chemical & Engineering News, a publication of the American Chemical Society. They will be honored at an awards ceremony to be held March 23 in conjunction with the 239th ACS national meeting in San Francisco.

George Schatz
The Debye Award, established in 1962, recognizes outstanding research in physical chemistry. Schatz is the first Northwestern faculty member to receive the honor. He also was named to the inaugural class of ACS Fellows.

Schatz works on theory and computational modeling in a variety of nanoscience areas as well as in the related fields of biophysics and materials. His nanoscience research has focused on the optical properties of noble metal nanoparticles, nanoholes in films and other nanostructured materials of relevance to chemical and biological sensing applications, and on modeling nanopatterning and molecular self-assembly processes.

Read the Chemical & Engineering News profile on Schatz online.

Peter Stair
The George A. Olah Award in Hydrocarbon or Petroleum Chemistry, established in 1948, recognizes outstanding research achievements in hydrocarbon or petroleum chemistry.

Stair works on the synthesis, characterization and understanding of catalysts and catalytic reactions. He has developed ultraviolet resonance Raman spectroscopy as a powerful tool to investigate both catalysts and reactions under realistic conditions. Stair's research has strong ties to Argonne National Laboratory and industry.

Read the Chemical & Engineering News profile on Stair online.

Richard Van Duyne
The ACS Award in Analytical Chemistry, established in 1947, recognizes outstanding contributions to the science of analytical chemistry, pure or applied, carried out in the United States or Canada.

Van Duyne discovered surface-enhanced Raman spectroscopy (SERS) -- now widely recognized as the most sensitive form of spectroscopy capable of identifying molecules -- and is the inventor of nanosphere lithography. The central questions explored by Van Duyne lie in the area of nanoparticle optics. He applies localized surface plasmon resonance spectroscopy, SERS, resonant Rayleigh scattering, atomic force microscopy and electron microscopy to solve problems in electrochemistry, surface science, materials chemistry and biochemistry.

Read the Chemical & Engineering News profile on Van Duyne online.

Topics: People