•  ()
  •  ()
  • Print this Story
  • Email this Story

Bienen School Seeks Nominations for 2010 Nemmers Prize

September 28, 2009 | by Judy Moore
EVANSTON, Ill. --- Nominations for the 2010 cycle of the Michael Ludwig Nemmers Prize in Music Composition are being sought by the Northwestern University Henry and Leigh Bienen School of Music.

The biennial award honors classical music composers of outstanding achievement who have significantly influenced the field of composition. The prize, conferred through nomination, includes a cash award of $100,000, a performance by the Chicago Symphony Orchestra, and a residency of four non-consecutive weeks at Northwestern's Bienen School of Music. At the Bienen School the recipient works with faculty and students. Previous winners are John Adams in 2004, Oliver Knussen in 2006 and Kaija Saariaho in 2008.  

Nominations for the Nemmers Prize are reviewed by a selection committee, whose three members have widely recognized stature in the music community. One member is designated by the Chicago Symphony Orchestra and two by the Bienen School of Music. The prize will be awarded without regard to citizenship or institutional affiliation.  

The Michael Ludwig Nemmers Prize in Music Composition is made possible through a generous gift from the late Erwin E. Nemmers and Frederic E. Nemmers, who in 1994 also enabled the creation of the Erwin Plein Nemmers Prize in Economics and the Frederic Esser Prize in Mathematics. Both are leading awards in their fields.  

Nominations for the 2010 prize will be accepted now until Feb.1, with the announcement of the winner scheduled for late spring. Nominations preferably should be submitted by recognized experts in the music profession and describe the nominee's accomplishments and qualifications in no more than two pages. Inclusion of a resume is encouraged, but is not required. Self-nominations will not be accepted, and former or present members of the Northwestern University faculty or employees of the Chicago Symphony are not eligible. All nominations should be sent to:  

Secretary to the Selection Committee
Michael Ludwig Nemmers Prize in Music Composition
Office of the Dean
Henry and Leigh Bienen School of Music  
Northwestern University
711 Elgin Road
Evanston, IL  60208

For further details on the Michael Ludwig Nemmers Prize and the prize criteria, visit the Michael Ludwig Nemmers Prize Web page at

Topics: University News