•  ()
  •  ()
  • Print this Story
  • Email this Story

Northwestern Will Hold 151st Commencement June 19

June 16, 2009
EVANSTON, Ill. --- Northwestern University will hold its 151st annual commencement ceremony at 6 p.m. Friday, June 19, at Ryan Field.

Internationally renowned musician Wynton Marsalis, who will receive an honorary Doctor of Arts degree, will address graduates, parents and guests.

Marsalis is among seven distinguished individuals who will receive honorary degrees. Northwestern University President Henry S. Bienen and Chairman of the Board of Trustees Patrick G. Ryan, both of whom will step down from their positions after 14 years, will be awarded Doctor of Humane Letters degrees.
Four others will receive honorary Doctor of Science degrees. They are:
• Jeanne Brooks-Gunn, the Virginia and Leonard Marx Professor in Child Development and Education at Teachers College and the College of Physicians and Surgeons at Columbia University

• Fred Kavli, Norwegian-American entrepreneur and philanthropist

• H. Eugene Stanley, a University Professor with appointments in physics, chemistry, biomedical engineering and physiology at Boston University

• Lonnie G. Thompson, University Distinguished Professor in The Ohio State University Department of Geological Sciences

In the event of severe weather, the ceremony will be held in Welsh-Ryan Arena. Tickets are required for admission to both the Ryan Field and Welsh-Ryan Arena venues.

Commencement activities will begin with baccalaureate services at 9:30 and 11 a.m. in Alice Millar Chapel. The President’s Reception for graduates and their families and guests will be held from noon to 2 p.m. at Norris University Center.

Free continuous shuttle bus service will be provided between the campus and Ryan Field/Welsh-Ryan Arena from 2:30 to 9 p.m. June 19 and from 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. Saturday, June 20, the day schools and colleges hold their convocations.
Topics: Campus Life