•  ()
  •  ()
  • Print this Story
  • Email this Story

Malthouse Receives Walder Award for Research Excellence

May 1, 2009
EVANSTON, Ill. --- Edward C. Malthouse, Theodore and Annie Sills Professor of Integrated Marketing Communications at the Northwestern University Medill School of Journalism, has been named the recipient of the Martin E. and Gertrude G. Walder Award for Research Excellence.

Malthouse is an expert in marketing communications – applied statistics, market research and media marketing. His primary research is in the areas of media and database marketing. He develops statistical models and applies them to large data sets of consumer information to help managers make marketing decisions.

His research focuses on the intersection of consumers' experience with media, customer value, marketing strategies and interactive marketing technologies.

One aspect of his studies looks at consumers and media, seeking to understand, describe and measure the multidimensional experiences people have with media - and how to utilize that knowledge to create more engaging content and a more engaging media brand.

Malthouse's work also focuses on integrating customization activities with other marketing activities and improving the analytical customization methods and algorithms.

He received the Robert B. Clarke Outstanding Educator Award in 2008 from the Direct Marketing Educational Foundation and was awarded the Don Kuhn Non-profit Research Grant in 2007. Malthouse is editor of the Journal for Interactive Marketing; member of the board of trustees of the Direct Marketing Educational Foundation; and chair of the research track at the Direct/Interactive Marketing Research Summit for 2009.

Malthouse is a member of Phi Beta Kappa and of the American Statistical Association and the European Advertising Academy.

The Walder Award was established by Dr. Joseph A. Walder, who earned a master's degree in chemistry from Northwestern in 1972 and an M.D. degree in 1975. The award established a permanently endowed professorship, the Irving M. Klotz Research Professorship.

The previous recipients of the Walder Award are Timothy Breen (history), 2002; Mary Zimmerman (performance studies), 2003; Lindsay Chase-Lansdale (education and social policy), 2004; Gary Saul Morson (Slavic languages and literatures), 2005; Prem Kumar (electrical engineering and computer science), 2006; Cynthia Thompson (communication sciences and disorders), 2007; and Carol Lee (education and social policy), 2008.
Topics: People