•  ()
  •  ()
  • Print this Story
  • Email this Story

Tobin Marks Will Receive Spanish Award Oct. 24

October 21, 2008 | by Megan Fellman
EVANSTON, Ill. --- Tobin J. Marks, Vladimir N. Ipatieff Research Professor of Chemistry in the Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences and Professor of Materials Science and Engineering in the McCormick School of Engineering and Applied Science at Northwestern University, will receive Spain's prestigious 2008 Prince of Asturias Prize for Scientific Research at a special ceremony presided over by H.R.H. the Prince of Asturia Friday, Oct. 24, in Oviedo, Spain.

The awards ceremony, which the Spanish Royal Family is expected to attend, will begin at 6:30 p.m. European time (11:30 a.m. Chicago time) at the Campoamor Theatre in Oviedo. It will be broadcast live on the European/Spanish jumptv internet station, Eurovision and TVE channel 1.

Marks, a world leader in the fields of chemical catalysis, materials chemistry and nanotechnology, is being honored for his landmark work in the "creation of revolutionary new materials for the benefit of mankind." He has developed processes for numerous types of recyclable, environmentally friendly plastics, efficient organic displays and transistor circuitry, and organic solar energy cells.

He is one of three American and two Japanese scientists to receive the Prince of Asturias Prize for Scientific Research. Marks shares the award with chemist George M. Whitesides of Harvard University, physicist Sumio Iijima of Meijo University, and engineers Shuji Nakamura of the University of California-Santa Barbara and Robert Langer of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

The award is bestowed upon "individuals, work groups or institutions whose discoveries or research represent a significant contribution to the progress of humanity in the fields of mathematics, physics, chemistry, biology, medicine, Earth and space sciences, as well as their related technical aspects and technologies."

Eight Prince of Asturias prizes, established in 1981, are awarded each year covering categories such as arts, scientific research, sports, letters and humanities. The awards include a cash prize of 50,000 euros ($78,000) and a sculpture by Spanish artist Joan Miró representing and symbolizing the awards. They are named for Prince Felipe, heir to the Spanish crown, and are presented each fall in Oviedo, capital of the northern region of Asturias.

More information on the ceremony and the awardees can be found online.
Topics: People