•  ()
  •  ()
  • Print this Story
  • Email this Story

Lincoln Lauhon Named Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar

July 22, 2008 | by Megan Fellman
EVANSTON, Ill. — Lincoln J. Lauhon, assistant professor of materials science and engineering and the Morris E. Fine Junior Professor in Materials and Manufacturing at Northwestern University, is among 15 young faculty members nationwide selected to receive 2008 Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Awards.

The unrestricted $75,000 award will support Lauhon's research program on the development of quantitative synthesis-structure-property relationships for nanostructured materials.

The Camille and Henry Dreyfus Foundation, a leading non-profit organization devoted to the advancement of the chemical sciences, annually awards the research grant to young faculty in the chemical sciences who have created an independent body of outstanding scholarship and demonstrate a commitment to education.

Lauhon synthesizes nanostructured semiconducting materials for use in nanotechnology-enabled applications. His research group also is developing new techniques for visualizing the structure and properties of materials on the nanoscale.

Lauhon joined the Northwestern faculty in 2003 following a chemistry postdoctoral fellowship at Harvard University. His research was recognized with an NSF CAREER Award and an Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellowship. His publications have been cited more than 2,000 times to date.