•  ()
  •  ()
  • Print this Story
  • Email this Story

New Music Building and Arts Green Committees Formed

May 6, 2008
EVANSTON, Ill. --- Committees have been appointed to advise on the development of the new School of Music building on the Evanston campus and to advise on the development of the new arts green that will replace the existing Arts Circle, it was announced by Provost Daniel Linzer.

René Machado, the School of Music associate dean for administration and finance, has been appointed chair of both committees. Music Building Committee members from the School of Music include Maud Hickey, chair of the department of music studies; Karen Brunssen and Charles Geyer, co-chairs of the department of music performance; and Linda Garton, assistant dean for admission and student affairs.

Other committee members are Jean Shedd, associate provost for budget, facilities and analysis; Jaci Rivera, assistant registrar, Office of the University Registrar; Jonathan Harnum, a second year doctoral student in music education; and Joseph Baldwin, an undergraduate student in voice performance. Richard Van Kleeck, director of concert activities in the School of Music, will advise on the development of performance spaces in the new building.

The Arts Green Committee includes David Robertson, director of the Mary and Leigh Block Museum of Art; Barbara Butts, managing director of the Theatre and Interpretation Center; Richard Thomas, director of Norris University Center; Merrill Silverman, director of parking and security systems, University Police; Brian Peters, director of University Services; and Van Kleeck.

Three Facilities Management staff members will work as part of the committees: Bonnie Humphrey, director of design and construction; Elizabeth Hitchcock, senior facilities planner; and Susan Budinsky, project manager.

"The goal of the building committee is to provide input from the many perspectives necessary to develop a music building that meets the needs of the school and the general campus," said Machado, the committee chair.

The five architectural firms under consideration include Hammel, Green and Abrahamson, Inc. in Milwaukee, Kuwabara Payne McKenna Blumberg Architects in Toronto, and three firms with offices in Chicago: Goettsch Partners, Inc., Kreuk and Sexton Architects, and Murphy/Jahn Inc. Architects. Ronald Nayler, associate vice president for facilities management, stated that the Educational Properties Committee of the Board of Trustees, with advice from the Building Committee, will select three firms to participate in a design competition during the summer. A selection of the final design firm will be made this fall.

The target date for the completion of the five-story lakefront music building and the first stage of the arts green has been set for 2012.

The new building will be located south of Pick-Staiger Concert Hall and Regenstein Hall of Music and will connect to Regenstein. It will contain approximately 116,000 gross square feet of space for classrooms, teaching labs, academic faculty offices, teaching studios for choral, opera, piano and voice faculty, practice rooms, student lounges and administrative offices. There also will be a choral rehearsal room and library, an opera rehearsal room/black box theater and a 400-seat recital hall. The cost of the music building and arts green projects will be $90 million.

Construction of the new music building will permit the University to consolidate all music facilities in one location for the first time in decades and create a "music village" for faculty, students and programs.
Topics: University News