•  ()
  •  ()
  • Print this Story
  • Email this Story

Northwestern Fed Challenge Team Wins Third Consecutive National Title

November 29, 2006

EVANSTON, Ill. --- For the third year in a row, Northwestern University's Federal Reserve Challenge team won the national College Federal Reserve Challenge, taking home $25,000 in awards. 

A team of five Northwestern students yesterday (Nov. 28) presented a mock Federal Reserve Open Market Committee monetary policy meeting to discuss what should be done in reaction to the state of the economy. This was followed by 15 minutes of questions from Federal Reserve economists who were judging the event. 

This year's team has three members returning from the previous winners -- team captain senior Joshua Plavner as well as senior Rosa Li and junior Jeanne Ruan. They are joined by senior Frederick Herrmann and sophomore Joshua Goldstein. The team is advised by Mark Witte, director of undergraduate studies, department of economics, Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences.

Second place went to Boston College, third to Rutgers University, and Virginia Commonwealth University got honorable mention. The judges were Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond President Jeffrey Lacker, former Federal Reserve Governor Lawrence Meyer, and Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago economist Charles Evans. 

Topics: Campus Life