•  ()
  •  ()
  • Print this Story
  • Email this Story

Bina Reappointed to Jones Professorship

September 5, 2006

EVANSTON, Ill. --- Craig Bina has been reappointed the Wayne V. Jones II Professor of Geological Sciences at Northwestern University.

Bina’s research focuses on the structure, composition and behavior of the interior of the Earth and other planets. Specifically, he studies thermodynamics, elastic properties, phase transitions and dynamic processes in planetary mantles. As a member of the Northwestern Institute on Complex Systems, he also studies the propagation of strain energy in networks.

Bina is a Fellow of the Mineralogical Society of America and a past recipient of the Presidential Young Investigator Award from the National Science Foundation.

He has also been awarded the Editor’s Citation for Excellence in Refereeing from the American Geophysical Union, the Lewis G. Weeks Lectureship from the department of geology and geophysics at the University of Wisconsin-Madison and the Harry Hess Lectureship from Princeton University.

Bina has been a visiting professor at a number of universities, including the University of Tokyo and Ehime University in Japan, Princeton University and the Carnegie Institution of Washington, D.C. In the past few years, he has been an invited lecturer at several international geophysical workshops and conferences in Italy (2005), Japan (2005, 2003, 2001) and the Czech Republic (2003, 2002).

Bina, who joined the Northwestern faculty in 1990, was elected to the Faculty Honor Roll of Northwestern's Associated Student Government and served as associate editor of Reviews of Geophysics and The Journal of Geophysical Research for the American Geophysical Union.

Bina’s regular course offerings range from introductory freshman seminars through advanced graduate seminars.

From 2001 to 2004 he served as associate dean for undergraduate studies in the Judd A. and Marjorie Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences, and in 2005-2006 he chaired the University’s undergraduate research grants committee.

Topics: People