•  ()
  •  ()
  • Print this Story
  • Email this Story

Commencement 2006: Sen. Obama to Address Grads

June 6, 2006

EVANSTON, Ill. --- Northwestern University will award honorary degrees to seven distinguished individuals at its 148th annual commencement exercises Friday, June 16.

U.S. Sen. Barack Obama (D-Illinois) will receive an honorary doctor of laws degree and will address graduates, parents and guests at the 6 p.m. ceremony in Ryan Field.

Honorary degrees also will be presented to:

• Elijah Anderson, Charles and William L. Day Distinguished Professor of the Social Sciences and professor of sociology at the University of Pennsylvania, honorary doctor of science degree

• James Fallows, national correspondent for The Atlantic Monthly and author of seven books, honorary doctor of humane letters degree

• Lynn Hunt, Eugen Weber Professor of Modern European History at the University of California, Los Angeles, honorary doctor of humane letters degree

• Robert S. Langer, Institute Professor at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, honorary doctor of science degree

• Nathan Rosenberg, Fairleigh S. Dickinson Jr. Professor Emeritus of Public Policy at Stanford University, honorary doctor of science degree

• Susan Solomon, senior scientist with the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration's Chemical Sciences Division, honorary doctor of science degree

In the event of severe weather, the ceremony will be held in Welsh-Ryan Arena. Tickets are required for admission to both the Ryan Field and Welsh-Ryan Arena venues.

Commencement activities will begin at 11 a.m. June 16 with the President's Reception at Norris University Center for graduates and their families and guests. Baccalaureate services will be held at 10 a.m. and 1 p.m. in Alice Millar Chapel.

Free continuous shuttle bus service will be provided between the campus and Ryan Field/McGaw Hall from 2:30 to 9 p.m. June 16 and from 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. Saturday, June 17, the day schools and colleges hold their convocations.

The convocation schedule and speakers are as follows:

Robert R. McCormick School of Engineering and Applied Science: Welsh-Ryan Arena, 8:30 a.m. Alumnus Robert Wayman, executive vice president and chief financial officer, Hewlett-Packard.

School of Education and Social Policy: Cahn Auditorium, 9 a.m. Alumna Shinae Chun, director of the Women's Bureau of the U.S. Department of Labor.

School of Music: Pick-Staiger Concert Hall, 9 a.m. Alex Ross, music critic, The New Yorker.

Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences: Welsh-Ryan Arena, 11 a.m. Henry Binford, associate professor of history, Northwestern University.

School of Continuing Studies: Alice Millar Chapel, noon. Alumna Merri Jo Gillette, Midwest regional director, Securities and Exchange Commission.

Medill School of Journalism: Cahn Auditorium, 1:30 p.m. Susan Goldberg, executive editor and vice president, San Jose Mercury News.

School of Communication (communication studies and communication sciences and disorders): Pick-Staiger Concert Hall, 1:30 p.m. Alumna Rikki Klieman, anchor for the Courtroom Television Network.

Kellogg School of Management: Welsh-Ryan Arena, 3:30 p.m. Kenneth Chenault, chief executive officer, American Express.

School of Communication (dance, interdepartmental studies, performance studies, radio/television/film, theatre): Pick-Staiger Concert Hall, 5 p.m. Alumna Rikki Klieman, anchor for the Courtroom Television Network.

Topics: Campus Life