•  ()
  •  ()
  • Print this Story
  • Email this Story

Program Review Council and Subcommittees Appointed

January 10, 2006

Program Review, now in its 20th year, is again under way with a new schedule of reviews slated to take place.

Twenty-three units organized into 14 groups will undergo program review during the 2005-06 year. This year marks the sixth year in the third cycle of reviews.

Initiated in 1985, Program Review is a mechanism for the systematic review and evaluation of all academic and administrative units of the University. The overall purpose of Program Review has remained unchanged since its inception: to assess program quality and effectiveness and to stimulate program planning and improvement. Program Review provides an opportunity for all members of an administrative or academic unit to engage in thoughtful self-reflection about the unit’s mission, challenges, emerging opportunities, and to refine its strategic course in light of these.

With input from the Program Review Council subcommittees and external reviewers, the central administration has relied upon and successfully used Program Review as a key method for ensuring that excellent units can sustain their high level of performance and improve and for identifying and aiding problematic units. Summaries of the program reviews are shared with members of the University’s senior and line administration and Board of Trustees, but are otherwise kept confidential within the respective units.

Program Review is overseen by the Program Review Council, an appointed steering committee comprised of senior faculty and administrators who each serve a three-year term and also serve as chairs of the individual review subcommittees.  The Council is appointed based upon a slate of potential members recommended by the GFC Committee on Committees, the deans and other administrative officers.

The Program Review Council is representative of the various disciplinary and administrative interests within the University, but not all units in any single year are represented. Individual subcommittee members are appointed for one year for the specific review on which they are asked to serve. Each year, a member of the Council is also appointed to serve as chair.

Thomas P. Green, M.D., Women’s Board Centennial Professor and chair of the department of pediatrics in the Feinberg School of Medicine, chairs the Program Review Council for the 2005-06 year. Marilyn McCoy, vice president for administration and planning, serves as vice-chair of the Council. Mai Lin P. Noffke, director of Program Review, oversees and coordinates the program review process.

This year’s Program Review Council members, who serve as subcommittee chairs, and subcommittee members for each unit are:

Economics: Prem Kumar (chair), Professor, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, and Physics and Astronomy, and Director, Center for Photonic Communication and Computing; Kathleen Thelen, Professor, Political Science; Thomas Severini, Chair and Professor, Statistics

Management and Strategy: Sara Monoson (chair), Chair, Classics, and Associate Professor, Political Science; Barry Nelson, Professor, Industrial Engineering and Management Science; Helen Schwartzman, Professor, Anthropology

Managerial Economics and Decision Sciences: John M. Franks (chair), Professor, Mathematics; Jorge Nocedal, Professor, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science; Aviv Nevo, Professor, Economics

Materials Science and Engineering: Alan K. Cubbage (chair), Vice President for University Relations; Frederic Rasio, Associate Professor, Physics and Astronomy; Curt Horvath, Associate Professor, Biochemistry, Molecular Biology, and Cell Biology

Materials Research Center: Kevin T. McVary, M.D. (chair), Professor, Urology; Robert Linsenmeier, Professor, Biomedical Engineering; Enrico Mugnaini, Director, Northwestern Institute for Neuroscience, and Edgar F. Stuntz Professor, Cell and Molecular Biology

Feinberg School of Medicine Administration: David Dranove (chair), Walter J. McNerney Distinguished Professor, Management and Strategy; Joseph Schofer, Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering; Teresa Woodruff, Professor, Neurobiology and Physiology

Department of Medicine: Joseph T. Walsh (chair), Senior Associate Dean McCormick School and Professor, Biomedical Engineering; Linda Broadbelt, Professor, Chemical and Biological Engineering; Kathleen Green, Joseph L. Mayberry Sr. Professor, Pathology; Theresa Parker, Assistant Dean for Finance, Kellogg School of Management; Stanford Shulman, M.D., Professor, Pediatrics

Department of Surgery: Monica Olvera de la Cruz (chair), Professor, Materials Science and Engineering; Sharon Dooley, M.D., M.P.H., Professor, Obstetrics and Gynecology, and Senior Associate Dean for Graduate Medical Education; Philip Iannaccone, M.D., Professor, Pediatrics; Anthony Schaeffer, M.D., Herman L. Kretschmer Professor and Chair, Urology

Department of Urology: William L. Lowe, Jr., M.D. (chair), Professor, Endocrinology; Donald McCrimmon, M.D., Professor, Physiology; Nathaniel Soper, M.D., Professor, Surgery

School of Continuing Studies: Jeffrey C. Miller (chair), Senior Executive Associate Dean and Chief Operating Officer, Feinberg School of Medicine; Paul Corona, Director of Training and Development, Human Resources; Donald Haider, Professor, Management and Strategy, Director, Center for Nonprofit Management; Martin Mueller, Professor, English and Comparative Literary Studies

Northwestern University Press: Thomas A. Bauman (chair), Professor, Music Academic Studies; Wendy Espeland, Professor, Sociology; Wendy Wall, Professor and Chair, English

Student Enrollment Services Group (including Admissions, Office of Financial Aid, Registrar’s Office, Office of Student Loans, and Office of Student Accounts): Richard P. Honack (chair), Assistant Dean, Chief Marketing Officer, Kellogg School of Management; Clarke Caywood, Associate Professor, Medill Integrated Marketing Communication; Raymond Curry, M.D., Executive Associate Dean for Education, Feinberg School of Medicine; Michele Rogers, Assistant Dean and Director of Student Affairs, Kellogg School of Management; Miriam White, Professor, Radio/Television/Film

Research Safety and Compliance Group (including Center for Comparative Medicine, Office of Sponsored Research, Animal Care and Use Committee, Office of Research Integrity, and Office of Research Safety): M. Christine Stock, M.D. (chair), James E. Eckenhoff Professor of Anesthesiology and Chair, Anesthesiology; Ted Belytschko, Walter P. Murphy Professor and McCormick Professor, Mechanical Engineering; Kimberly Fisher, Associate Professor, Communication Sciences and Disorders; William Karpus, Associate Professor, Pathology and Microbiology-Immunology; Tamar Seideman, Professor, Chemistry

Office of Technology Transfer and Illinois Technology Enterprise Center (ITEC) (reviewed jointly): Bruce Spencer (chair), Professor, Statistics; Scott Barnett, Professor, Materials Science and Engineering; Angela Lee, Associate Professor, Marketing

Topics: People