•  ()
  •  ()
  • Print this Story
  • Email this Story

Jameson Elected Member of Institute of Medicine

October 25, 2005

CHICAGO --- J. Larry Jameson, M.D., Cutter Professor of Medicine and chair, department of medicine at the Feinberg School of Medicine, has been elected a member of the Institute of Medicine.

The IOM was established in 1970 by the National Academy of Sciences to honor professional achievement in the health science and to serve as a national resource for independent analysis and recommendations on issues related to medicine, biomedical sciences and health.

Jameson is internationally recognized for his research, which has defined the genetic basis of more than a dozen different endocrine disorders. He has a long-standing interest in the genetics of endocrine tumors and possible approaches to their treatment. He has published more than 250 scientific articles including reports in top-ranked journals such as the New England Journal Medicine, Nature Genetics, Science, and the Journal of Clinical Investigation, as well as several specialty journals in endocrinology.

Jameson is the standard bearer for molecular medicine in the field of endocrinology. He is co-editor of the fourth and the fifth editions of the authoritative text, DeGroot and Jameson’s Endocrinology. His book Principles of Molecular Medicine received the Best Health Science Book of 1998 award.  He has served as an editor for the 15th and 16th editions of Harrison’s, Principles of Internal Medicine and is an editor of Harrison’s Online.

Jameson completed clinical training in internal medicine at the Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston. He become associate professor of medicine at Harvard Medical School and chief of the thyroid unit at the Massachusetts General Hospital before moving to Northwestern in 1993 as chief of the division of Endocrinology, Metabolism, and Molecular Medicine. He was named chair of medicine in 2000.

He served as president of The Endocrine Society, an organization with more than 10,000 members. He has received several awards, including the Oppenheimer Award from the Endocrine Society and the Van Meter Award from the American Thyroid Association, and has served as a visiting lecturer at leading institutions around the world. He has been elected to the American Society of Clinical Investigation, the Association of American Physicians and, in 2004, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Topics: People