•  ()
  •  ()
  • Print this Story
  • Email this Story

More Than 90 Students Receive Fellowships

June 7, 2005

Northwestern University students and recent graduates have won some of the most prestigious fellowships awarded to college and university student this year.

The awards include Marshall, Gates Cambridge, Fulbright, Javits and National Science Foundation (NSF) fellowships and Luce and Goldwater scholarships.

More than 90 Northwestern students were recipients of the awards that provide support for advanced education and/or research in the United States and around the world.

Office of Fellowships Assistant Director Christopher Hager said that this year’s winners include more graduate students than ever before.

Nearly a third of Northwestern Fulbright applicants have been awarded the grant -- a rate much higher than the national average. The recipients are bound for 15 countries on four continents. Northwestern also had the most recipients – 17 -- of the National Science Foundation fellowships than in past years despite NSF funding being cut.

The student fellowship winners are:

Marshall Scholarship: Ankur Bahl

Gates Cambridge Scholarship: Laura Blecha

English-Speaking Union: David Klaus

Luce Scholars Program: Mark Little, Ayelish McGarvey

Fulbright Scholarship: Jane Andrews, Raphael Bartholomew, Anna Jozwik, Clara Kimmet, Tony Lin, Jennifer Manne, Andrew Schmidt, Kavitha Sivashanker, James Smith, Jaclyn Sumner, Maureen Towey, Jeremy Weissmann, Tiffany Ziebell, Kathryn De Luna, Brian Maxson

Fulbright-Hays Dissertation Grant: Anh Ly

Field Museum Women in Science Graduate Fellowship: Robin Coleman

DAAD Study Scholarship: Marissa Petrou, Scott Greenwald, Michael McGillen

DAAD Research Grant: Katie Padgett, Anna Glazova

DAAD University Summer Course Grant: Robert Richardson

DAAD University Language Program: Laura Ephraim, Jonathan Mathys

DAAD edu.de Undergraduate Scholarship: Robert Rettew, Patrick Scharfe

DAAD Research Internship in Science and Engineering: Sara Patrawala

Congress-Bundestag Young Professionals Exchange Programs: Philip Analitis, Emily Flechtner, Alexandra Golobof, Justine Pierce

Rotary Foundation Ambassadorial Scholarship: Lauren Groth

National Security Education Program David L. Boren Graduate Fellowship: Sara Toth

National Security Education Program David L. Boren Undergraduate Scholarship: Chelsey Freidmann, Casey Redmon

National Security Education Program -- National Flagship Language Initiative: Jonathan Yoo

Princeton in Asia Fellowship: Kathleen Ho

Austrian Teaching Assistantship Program: Karen Rouse, Eric Spindler

Benjamin A. Gilman International Scholarship: Jonathan Marino

Jacob K. Javits Fellowship: Alexi Smith

National Science Foundation Dissertation Improvement Grant: Terence McDonnell

National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship: Mesmin Destin, Lesley Meade, Jamesina Simpson, Deirdre Pfeiffer, Catherine Mia Ihm, John Joo, Bonnie Lai, Wenhao Liu, Alexi Smith, Kyle Bishop, Jennifer Coyne, James Finley, Seth Levine, Grace Nijm, Eileen Romito, Michelle Seitz, Josh Vura-Weis

National Defense Science and Engineering Graduate Fellowship: Bo Zhao

DOE Computational Science Graduate Fellowship: Kevin Kohlstedt

National Cancer Institute CURE Minority Program Training Grant: Allison Thompson

Dan David Fellowship: Randall Goldsmith

Link Foundation Fellowship: Alex Martinson, Randall Goldsmith

Illinois Consortium for Educational Opportunity Program: Nneka Onyezia

Arnold L. Mitchem Fellowship: Ebony Utley

American Academy in Rome: Rome Prize: Peter Mazur, J. Beth Condie-Pugh

Max-Planck Doctoral Fellowship: Helen Callaghan

Ambassade de France Chateaubriand Doctoral Research Scholarship: Suzanne LaVere, Lee Seymour

Luce/ACLS Doctoral Fellowship in American Art: Meredith TeGrotenhuis

Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship: Laura Hughes, Jeff Kaplan

USA Today All-USA College Academic Team First Team: Jane Lee

Glamour Magazine Top Ten College Women: Jane Lee

Public Policy and International Affairs Fellowship: Jane Lee

Coro Fellows Program in Public Affairs: Chelsea Correia, Joef Hatton

Bill Emerson National Hunger Fellows Program: Kevin Anderson

Morris K. Udall Scholarship: Panah Bhalla

Center for the Study of the Presidency Fellowship: Jesse Abrams-Morley

Witherspoon Fellowship: Benjamin Snyder

University of Cambridge Intercollegiate Studies Institute Fellowship: Michael Breidenbach

Anne Armstrong Award, Center for Strategic and International Studies: Anisa Czerniejewski Nwachuku

Alpha Lambda Delta Trow Undergraduate Scholarship: Alysa Handelsman

Pfizer Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowship: Andrea Zuhl

Topics: University News, People