Inarguably No. 1

By beating Emory University the Northwestern Debate Society won the 2011 National Debate Tournament in March. With 14 wins to date, the team has the most championships of any school in tournament history. Matthew Fisher and Stephanie Spies made history by becoming the first duo to win both the collegiate National Debate Tournament and the Tournament of Champions, the high school debate tournament they won as debaters at Glenbrook North High School. Spies also received the top speaker prize, and Northwestern’s Dan Fitzmier (GC02, 06) brought home his first tournament championship since he was named coach in 2009.