Gregg A. Kindle Distinguished Lecture

Dr. Timothy Bono

Dr. Timothy Bono

The Gregg A. Kindle Distinguished Lecture

Creating and sustaining an inclusive Northwestern experience requires open, authentic communication, inspired leadership, and a commitment to social justice. The Gregg A. Kindle Distinguished Lecture features scholars and/or practitioners who are making significant intellectual and practical contributions to support thriving communities. Each year our featured lecturers challenge our assumptions about our role in community, help us understand ourselves and others, and give us tools to succeed.

The annual spring lecture honors the legacy of the late Gregg A. Kindle, Director of Residential Life and Assistant Dean of Students from 1986 to 2003. Gregg worked at Northwestern for 22 years and was passionate about developing inclusive residential communities. He cared deeply for students and led department efforts to create timely and innovative campus programs, some of which continue today, such as the SafeRide program, the LGBT support network, and anti-sexual assault education initiatives. Gregg is remembered for his contributions to the development of a new generation of residential living areas including ACCI, Kemper Hall, and Slivka Hall. He also helped create the first residentially based coffeehouse/café, which led to the development of Lisa’s Café on north campus.

Upcoming Lecture


2018 Speaker: Dr. Timothy Bono

Timothy is a psychologist and faculty member in the Department of Psychological & Brain Sciences at Washington University in St. Louis. His teaching and research focus on positive psychology and college student development. Over the last decade, thousands of students have enrolled in his courses on the Psychology of Young Adulthood and the Science of Happiness. He is the recipient of the Dean’s Award for Teaching Excellence from the Graduate School of Arts & Sciences, the Outstanding Teaching Award from the Department of Psychological & Brain Sciences, and the Outstanding Research Award from the National Association for Orientation, Transition, and Retention in Higher Education. His research has been featured in media outlets including Fast Company, CNN, and the Associated Press. His first book, When Likes Aren't Enough: A Crash Course in the Science of Happiness will be released March 13, 2018, from Grand Central Publishing.

The 9th Annual Gregg A. Kindle Distinguished Lecture on Community

STAFF Lecture: Using positive psychology to respond to the mental health crisis

STUDENT Lecture: Resilient Leadership

A lecture series about microaggressions, unconscious and implicit bias, and stereotype threats within the campus and residential community.

  • Staff & Faculty: Friday May 11, 2018. 1:30 PM – 3:00 PM | Willard Hall B72
  • Staff & Faculty (Meet and Greet): Friday May 11, 2018. 3:00 PM – 4:00 PM | Willard Hall B72

  • Students (Student Leader Summit): Saturday May 12, 2018. 9:00 AM – 11:00 AM | Norris Center Northwestern Room

Past Distinguished Lecturers

2017: Dr. Marcus Bright, “Community, Equity, and University: Where Do We Go From Here?” A lecture series about microaggressions, unconscious and implicit bias, and stereotype threats within the campus and residential community.

2016: Dr. Joshua Moon Johnson, “Not in My House: Taking Action to Build Community for All” and “The Birds and the B’s of Belonging”

2015: Patrick Day, "50 Shades of Purple: The Uncomfortable Intimacy of Community"

2014: Dr. Vijay Pendakur, "The Only Constant is Change: A New Approach to Managing Inter-Cultural Conflict" and "Understanding Privilege and Leading with Responsibility"

2013: Dr. Maura Cullen, “Building Inclusive Communities”

2012: Vernon Wall, “One Better World”

2011: Dr. Harry Boyte, “We the People: Students and the Global Movement for Civic Empowerment”

2010: Paul Rogat Loeb, “Personal Belief, Community, and Making a Difference in a Cynical World”