Meet the Inclusion Task Force

Inclusion Task Force Initiative | Meet the Inclusion Task Force

The Inclusion Task force was formed in Fall Quarter 2012 to assist with the development and implementation of various programs and services that will be executed from the Department of Campus Inclusion and Community. This group of 11 dedicated student leaders representing every academic school reflects the richness and depth of diversity that exists within the Northwestern student body.

Gender Awareness on Campus

Courtney Marcusson

Courtney is a junior studying Communication Sciences and Disorders and pursuing the Integrated Marketing Communications Certificate.  On campus, she works as a brand ambassador for KIND Healthy Snacks and as a research assistant at the Language Learning Lab.  She is on the Executive Board of her sorority, and is on the Marketing Committee for NU Dance Marathon.  She enjoys blogging, babysitting, and ballet.  As an aspiring speech-language pathologist, Courtney is especially passionate about issues of inclusion regarding individuals with disabilities.  She hopes to improve campus climate via her work on the Task Force.

Miranda Cawley

Miranda is a sophomore studying Social Policy and Environmental Sciences. In addition to Inclusion Task Force, she is a member of SHAPE and a news anchor and producer with WNUR News. In her limited spare time, she enjoys ranting on feminist blogs, playing classical cello, and baking. As part of Inclusion Task Force, she hopes to make Northwestern a safe space and supportive atmosphere in which all students can thrive in the pursuit of knowledge together.

Talia Weingarten

Talia is a sophomore working towards a Theatre and Gender Studies double major. She is incredibly honored to be serving on the Inclusion Task Force this year! She additionally works as a mentor for the AMPED music program at the Cook County juvenile detention center as well as the community programming director of Arts Alliance. When she's not doing these things, she can be seen acting, falling off her bike, or eating Andy's.

Sarah Watson

Sarah is a junior majoring in Social Policy and minoring in African American Studies. Aside from the Inclusion Task Force, she is the vice coordinator of programming for For Members Only, programming chair for SHAPE, and co-lead moderator of Sustained Dialogue. She is passionate about making every space at NU an inclusive one and building relationships across difference to foster a real Northwestern community. Sarah is excited to be a part of the Task Force because after all of the wonderful things that came out of it last year, she is excited to see what's next!

Institutional Socioeconomic Status

Kaitlyn Chriswell

Kaitlyn is a senior double majoring in Political Science and Spanish. At Northwestern, she has been an active member and co-captain of the Mock Trial team, a Peer Adviser for Wildcat Welcome for 3 years, and a Peer Adviser for the Ignite first year experience program. Kaitlyn is passionate about creating space for meaningful dialogue on campus. She is one of the founders of Northwestern's chapter of Sustained Dialogue, and is currently serving as co-lead moderator for the Sustained Dialogue program along with Sarah Watson. Kaitlyn is committed to living out the mantra "listen harder when you disagree" in her own life. She hopes to help create a Northwestern community that values all students' experiences and engages with difference rather than overlooking it.

Will Ritter

Will is a senior studying Cognitive Science and Psychology, with a concentration in Cognitive Neuroscience. On campus, he is active in the Northwestern Marching Band, the Interfraternity Council, Camp Kesem, and his fraternity, Sigma Chi. He is incredibly passionate about working with people and organizations to help foster community, which is why he is so excited to be a part of the Inclusion Task Force.

Phyllis Dugan

Phyllis is a senior majoring in Radio/Television/Film, who hails from Los Angeles, CA. She is actively involved in For Members Only and Inspire Media. She is excited to be a member of the Inclusion Task Force, and hopes to help the concept "We are one Northwestern" become a reality for all students on Northwestern's campus.

Brandon Staunton

Brandon is a junior studying Applied Mathematics and Computer Science in McCormick. He is very excited to be welcomed back to the Inclusion Task Force this year and hopes to become more vocal in this role. In addition to the Inclusion Task Force, he is very proud to be a member of the Student Affairs IT student staff.

Diversity in Student Leadership

Noor-Ul-Ain Shahid Hasan

Noor is a senior majoring in Creative Writing Poetry and Legal Studies, with a minor in Asian American Studies. She was born and raised in Skokie, IL. On campus, Noor serves as public relations chair for Brown Sugar a cappella, vice president of Public Relations for Northwestern Wildside, and a moderator for Sustained Dialogue. She also represents the Legal Studies Department on the Weinberg Student Advisory Board, serves on the Weinberg Curricular Review Committee, is a winter site leader for Alternative Student Breaks, and is a member of the Muslim Cultural Students Association and South Asian Student Alliance. She hopes to build and inspire lasting connections as a co-moderator for Sustained Dialogue this year as well as to critically consider the availability of student leadership opportunities at Northwestern through her involvement on the Inclusion Task Force.

Stephen Piotrkowski

Stephen is a junior double majoring Journalism and Economics. He has served on the Board of Directors for Wildcat Welcome and is currently a tour guide. He is also involved in Greek life and plays on the Club Tennis team. Stephen is incredibly passionate about building relationships because good relationships make every day better. This is why he is excited to be part of the Inclusion Task Force for a second year. He fully believes the Inclusion Task Force is working towards a well-rounded Northwestern experience.

Nikita Sathyan Ramanujam

Nikita is a junior studying Learning & Organizational Change and French Horn Performance with a Business Institutions minor. On campus, she is involved with Greek life, serves as campus ambassador for Harvard Undergraduate Women in Business, and is often spotted in the library, the practice rooms, or in a meeting. This is her second year serving on the Inclusion Task Force and she could not be more excited implement change at Northwestern, bring communities together, and gain new perspectives!.

ITF Alumni

  • Hanan Abdisubhan
  • Lauren Cervantes
  • Brianna Davis
  • Paul Jackson
  • Jazzy Johnson
  • Mallory Mattimore-Malan
  • Morgan Purrier
  • Austin Romero
  • Sofia Sami
  • Elena Westbrook
  • Jeremy Woo