Northwestern University

Minutes of the Faculty Senate

Pancoe Auditorium - Evanston, Wieboldt Hall 421 - Chicago

October 4, 2017

The first meeting of 2017-2018 of the Northwestern University Faculty Senate was held on October 4, 2017, at Pancoe Auditorium in Evanston with videoconferencing to the Chicago campus in Wieboldt Hall 421. A number of Senators participated remotely. President Robert Hariman called the meeting to order at 5:10 p.m. A quorum was present.

The President welcomed the Senate and gave a report. The President then introduced Senator Ravi Jagannathan. Senator Jagannathan is the Chair of the Advisory Committee on Investment Responsibility, and he spoke about the committee's role within the University, explaining the impetus behind the formation of the committee, the purpose of the committee as an institutional mechanism for the University community's investment concerns and recommendations, and the committee's mission.

The President entertained a motion to confirm the chairs of Faculty Senate Standing Committees. The motion was made and seconded, and the Senate confirmed the chairs as follows: Senator Bobby Calder, Budget & Planning Committee; Senator Mark Segraves, Committee on Cause; Senator Claudia Swan, Educational Affairs Committee; Senator Lois Hedman, Faculty Handbook Committee; Senator Jennifer Cole, Faculty Rights & Responsibilities Committee; Senator Allan Horwich, Governance Committee; Senator Elsa Alvaro, Non-Tenure Eligible Committee; Senator Thomas Meade, Research Affairs Committee; Senator Robert Gordon, Salary & Benefits Committee; Senator Martin Block, Secure Faculty Survey Committee; Senator Joshua Hauser, Social Responsibility Committee; Senator Karen Springen, Student Affairs Committee.

The President entertained a motion to confirm the members of the Committee on Cause. The motion was made and seconded, and the Senate confirmed the members as follows: Senator Mark Segraves (Chair); Senator Celia O'Brien; Senator Lilah Shapiro; Senator Paul Hirsch; Senator Barbara Newman; Senator Hao Zhang; Senator Robert Wallace.

The Senate heard reports from newly elected Standing Committee Chairs. The Faculty Rights and

Responsibilities and Faculty Handbook Committees submitted a joint report on the University Non-

Retaliation Policy. The committees presented their recommendations on the current policy and asked for

further input from Senators prior to the submission deadline.

The Senate then discussed recent changes to the University Disruption and Demonstration Policy. The

President that a non-Senator faculty member, Jeffrey Masten, be allowed to speak. Professor Masten

shared his misgivings about the current policy. The Senate deliberated resolutions and ultimately decided

to review the matter in a committee.

The meeting adjourned at 5:54 p.m.

Jared Spitz

Administrative Coordinator

2