Northwestern University Minutes of the Faculty Senate Pancoe Auditorium - Evanston, Wieboldt Hall 421 - Chicago October 5, 2016

The regular monthly meeting of the Northwestern University Faculty Senate was held on October 5, 2016, at Pancoe Auditorium in Evanston with videoconferencing to the Chicago campus in Wieboldt Hall 421. A number of Senators participated remotely. President Laurie Zoloth called the meeting to order at 5:39 p.m. A quorum was present.

The President introduced each of the guest speakers, who addressed shared governance at Northwestern University: Associated Student Government President Christina Cilento, Executive Vice President Macs Vinson, and Vice President for Academics Ashley Wood; Provost Daniel Linzer; Executive Vice President Nim Chinniah; Associate Provost for Faculty Lindsay Chase-Lansdale; Associate Provost for Diversity & Inclusion Jabbar Bennett; Graduate Leadership & Advisory Council Chair Amanda Kleintop; Organization of Women Faculty Co-Chair Cristina Traina; Medical Faculty Council Chair Christopher Robinson; and Women Faculty Organization (Feinberg) Chair Jindan Yu.

After the conclusion of the guest speakers' remarks, the minutes of the April 2016 regular meeting were corrected. The minutes of the special meeting on June 7, 2016, and of the June 2016 regular meeting were approved.

The Senate then heard remarks from the chairs of Standing Committees.

At the conclusion of those remarks, the President introduced Executive Vice President Nim Chinniah and Kellogg School of Management Dean Sally Blount, who reported on the work of the Global Strategy Task Force.

The President entertained a motion to extend the meeting for as much time as necessary to complete the General Orders of the Day. The motion was made, seconded, and adopted.

The President entertained a motion to consider a "Resolution in Support of Pedestrian and Cycling Safety." The motion was made and seconded. Senator Ezra Getzler asked for unanimous consent that the resolution be amended by substituting the word "free" with the word "subsidized." The amendment was agreed to. Senator Karen Springen asked for unanimous consent that the following sentence be added at the end of the resolution:

Be it further resolved that the Faculty Senate and Associated Student Government recommend educating bicyclists in following the rules of the road, including stopping at stop signs and red lights, not riding on sidewalks in downtown Evanston, using a light at night, and wearing helmets.

Senator Getzler objected to the amendment, and the amendment was withdrawn. Seeing no further debate, the President called the question. The resolution was adopted as follows:

Resolution in Support of Pedestrian and Cycling Safety

Whereas, Sheridan Road is the largest corridor stretching Northwestern's campus and buzzes with pedestrian, cyclists, and motor-vehicle traffic;

Whereas, Northwestern's strategic initiatives prioritize cycling and pedestrian traffic as sustainable forms of transportation;

Whereas, the recent death of freshman Chuyuan Qiu in a cycling accident on Sheridan Road has brought up concerns with transportation safety across campus;

Be it here resolved that the Faculty Senate and ASG support the creation of a Task Force to look at ways to improve the safety and experience of pedestrians and cyclists on campus;

Be it further resolved that the Faculty Senate recommends annual distribution of subsidized bike helmets and lights to any student on campus and recommends consideration of lowering the Sheridan speed limit to 25 mph between Davis and Central Streets.

The President entertained a motion to confirm the chairs of Faculty Senate Standing Committees. The motion was made and seconded, and the Senate confirmed the chairs as follows: Senator Bobby Calder, Budget & Planning Committee; Professor Ronald Allen, Committee on Cause; Senator Baron Reed, Educational Affairs Committee; Senator Lois Hedman, Faculty Handbook Committee; Senator Sylvester Johnson, Faculty Rights & Responsibilities Committee; Senator Michael Deas, Governance Committee; Senator Heather Colburn, Non-Tenure Eligible Committee; Senator André Luiz de Gouvêa, Research Affairs Committee; Senator Robert Gordon, Salary & Benefits Committee; Senator

Martin Block, Secure Faculty Survey Committee; Senator Joshua Hauser, Social Responsibility Committee; Senator Karen Springen, Student Affairs Committee.

The Senate then entered executive session to hear the report of Professor Edward Malthouse of the Committee on Honorary Degrees and vote on the confirmation of candidates for honorary degrees.

The meeting adjourned at 7:47 p.m.

Joshua L. Mayer Administrative Coordinator