Northwestern University Minutes of the Faculty Senate Pancoe Auditorium - Evanston, Wieboldt Hall 421 - Chicago November 2, 2016

The regular monthly meeting of the Northwestern University Faculty Senate was held on November 2, 2016, at Pancoe Auditorium in Evanston with videoconferencing to the Chicago campus in Wieboldt Hall 421. A number of Senators participated remotely. President Laurie Zoloth called the meeting to order at 5:31 p.m. A quorum was present.

The President introduced the guest speaker, Professor David Sanders, who spoke of his experiences as chair of the Purdue University Faculty Senate and took questions from Senators.

The Senate then heard reports from the chairs of Standing Committees.

After the Standing Committee reports, the October 2016 regular meeting minutes were approved.

The President entertained a motion to confirm Senator Ravi Jagannathan as chair of the Governance Committee and Senator Mark Segraves as chair of the Committee on Cause. The motion was made, seconded, and adopted.

The President entertained a motion to confirm the following members of the Committee on Cause: Senator Melissa Brown, Senator Heather Colburn, Senator Paul Hirsch, Senator Allan Horwich, Senator Barbara Newman, Senator Mark Segraves, and Senator Robert Wallace. The motion was made, seconded, and adopted.

Senator Rachel Riedl then moved to instruct the Budget and Planning Committee to consider the presentation of the Global Strategy Task Force at the October Faculty Senate meeting and report back to the Faculty Senate with a response based on broad consultation with the faculty of the University. The motion was seconded and adopted.

The meeting adjourned at 6:58 p.m.

Joshua L. Mayer Administrative Coordinator