TO: Faculty Senate

FROM: Non-tenure-eligible (NTE) Committee

RE: Faculty evaluation criteria & procedures for NTE faculty

DATE: 26 April 2017

Background

In 2014-15, the Non-tenure-eligible (NTE) Committee conducted a survey of non-tenure-track faculty regarding evaluation criteria and procedures for promotion, contract renewal and compensation. At the time, one of the primary issues was that communication/publication of these criteria and procedures was obscure or completely lacking in many of the schools at NU. (For a report of the survey results, please see the Committee's page: http://www.northwestern.edu/faculty-senate/committees/non-tenure-eligible.html).

- At its April 1st meeting in 2015, the Senate <u>passed a resolution</u> proposed by the NTE Committee that called for clarification of evaluation criteria and procedures for NTE faculty across all schools at NU.
- Since 2015, the NTE Committee and its members have continued to raise the importance of this needed clarification with administrators from Central, as well as with administrators from individual schools.

Current status

- This year, the NTE Committee revisited this issue, with the assistance of Josh Mayer, Administrative Coordinator of the NU Faculty Senate.
- The following schools have evaluation criteria and procedures available for NTE faculty online:
 - Feinberg: http://www.feinberg.northwestern.edu/fao/docs/admin-general/Information-guide-for-APT.pdf
 - o **Pritzker**: http://www.law.northwestern.edu/research-faculty/faculty/policies/promotion/
 - o **SESP**: http://www.sesp.northwestern.edu/faculty-staff-resources/policies-guidelines/faculty-policies-and-guidelines.html
 - WCAS: http://www.weinberg.northwestern.edu/faculty/career/
- McCormick has outlined procedures, but do not yet have those available on the Faculty
 Affairs page; an update is expected, and the NTE Committee is hopeful that the
 criteria/procedures affecting NTE faculty will be included in that update.

Next steps

- As Evanston (sans Kellogg) faculty continue to wait for the outcome of the July 2016
 unionization vote, the NTE Committee calls for individual schools to continue to work
 systematically to ensure and/or enhance communication of various procedures with NTE
 faculty. Publication of current criteria/procedures seems reasonable.
- The NTE Committee encourages senators and other faculty members to reach out directly to administrators in Medill, Communication and Bienen to call for clarification of evaluation

- criteria & procedures for NTE faculty, in a way that ensures access for all faculty/potential faculty.
- The NTE Committee also encourages senators and other faculty to examine the evaluation criteria and procedures currently available for their respective schools, and ensure that the information reflects best practices, as well as addresses questions and concerns of that school's faculty.

Non-tenure-eligible Committee 2016-17

Heather Colburn, Associate Professor of Instruction (WCAS)
David Corr, Clinical Associate Professor (McCormick)
Ben Gorvine, Associate Professor of Instruction (WCAS)
Belma Hadziselimovic, Senior Lecturer (SoC)
Robert Hasty, Senior Lecturer (Bienen)
Lois Deming Hedman, Associate Professor (FSM)
Allan Horwich, Professor of Practice (Pritzker)
Suzan van der Lee, Professor (WCAS)
Katherine Martinez, Assistant Professor (FSM)
Junko Sato, Senior Lecturer (WCAS)
Roxanne Sellberg, Associate University Librarian (Non-Senate member)
Karen Springen, Lecturer (Medill)