Skip to main content

2020 Honorary Degree Recipients

Each year, Northwestern awards Honorary Degrees to a select group of individuals of exceptional accomplishment. Past recipients include exemplary scholars, artists, actors, writers, musicians, politicians, and social leaders. Learn more about the selection process and how to submit a nomination.

Joanne Stubbe

Presented by Amy Rosenzweig

Norman Lear

Presented by Thomas Bradshaw

George Whitesides

Presented by Teri Odom

Chicago Mayor Lori Lightfoot

Presented by Nichole Pinkard